My First EDM concert, that too in Singapore

Ron Neo
3 min readJul 3, 2019

--

I was 19 years old back then, wanted to look super awesome in front of my friends and others. So, I attended a EDM (Electronic Dance Music) festival in Singapore whichI had no idea what it was; I only heard about different rock music festivals from my friends and social media. In 2018 mid-June, I went to Singapore to attend the so called Ultra Singapore which is basically EDM festival which I never thought I am gonna love till I had attended. So, here goes my story below:

Main stage of ULTRA SG’18
The lightings and the music were just amazing

Actually, I was all alone when I reached. No friends, no known faces..why ? The price of tickets was high almost USD150 (SGD200) or so only for general admission. By the time I bought the ticket there was no turning back; like I said I wanted to look cool..Yikes ! However, I found a friend there from Instagram and we both attended the festival. For the first time ever, I felt I was living the dream. So many cool looking boys and girls around me; tbh I was the youngest amongst them because all of them are elder than me. Yeah, it felt a bit awkward but it does not matter once you blend in between them. Most of them are locals but there are others who are from Vietnam, China, Indonesia, Thailand and others. One of the most beautiful things to see is that all of the people around me has got the festive vibes around them. As a result, I could see people painting in their faces with glowing neons, taking selfies, drinking and other stuffs.

yup, thats me trying to get in the crowd

So, once the sun goes down the real festival starts. The main stage is where most of the crowds gather around. I do not remember the main line-ups but I remember Afro Jack especially cause then only I was like..party mode on. Dancing with beats, going with the flow, head bangs and other immature stuffs I would say. And then, I had to say good bye since I did not have my close friends then. But one thing for sure, I made a hell lots of friends in that so called festival. You see, once I blended in it is then when people around came up to me and asked what am I doing there since I was the youngest. I easily made friends with them and they happily accepted.

It was crowded as hell
I only had this photo..sorry haha

After I returned home, I realised that this had been a great experience for me. I would recommend people to attend it with your close friends and trust me, it will be those moments you can never forget and cherish always. I could not attend the 2019 edition cause I had my final exams. Based in Asia, there is this DWP(Djakarta Warehouse Project) same as Ultra Singapore but much much better than this one. I hope to attend it this year; till then enjoy your life to the fullest.

--

--

Ron Neo
0 Followers

An international student studying at Malaysia