Behind the Scenes with a Narcissistic Psychic Healer

A horror story from my time in the New Age circuit.

Janet Chui
14 min readAug 11, 2023

--

Photo by Ron Lach

For this story, we’ll call her Neoma. This is not her real name.

Neoma was a full-time energy healer. She offered Tarot card readings, Mayan astrology readings, and spiritual healing sessions that could last hours. She was an older, divorced single woman from Europe who had lived in several places around the world. She taught courses on her astrology and healing methods and sold her courses and services at New Age events in different cities, mostly around Asia and the Pacific.

This work brought her to different places and to meet all kinds of people. Neoma managed it even in places she couldn’t speak the language, by finding enough clients (and rich clients) who spoke English.

I was one of these marks (I spoke English but wasn’t rich), who attended many of Neoma’s classes around 2014 to 2016. I volunteered at her booth at various “mind-body-spirit” festivals and once hosted her in my own home because she was usually based outside my country.

I was much in awe of her lifestyle.

This free, unfettered, and hyper-independent woman was a 180-degree opposite of my mother, a woman for whom I didn’t exist except when I wasn’t an embarrassment. My…

--

--

Janet Chui

I'm a counselor, therapist, artist, and creator of the Self-Love Oracle (https://bit.ly/selfloveo). I write about mental health, culture, psychology, and woo.