Is Base Modal MacBook Air M2 Good for Programming?

For those who doesn’t know about me, I am a self-taught frontend developer. I had 10 years old laptop I was suffering to work on server side projects with it. After long time of searching and dreaming about new MacBook, I will share my experiences with base modal MacBook Air M2 for programming.

Selim Enes
3 min readFeb 27, 2023

Why I chose MacBook?

I am currently living/working in Turkiye (formerly Turkey) and unfortunately, it’s not as easy as in Europe/USA to reach technologies, even as a software developer. So, I was looking for the best laptop for my usage in long-term. Well, I am not an Apple fan or Windows/Android hater, but we can say that Apple ecosystem works so much longer and more stable than others. I was looking for reviews of M1 and M2 MacBook Air modals maybe more than 1 year, and now I have the one with M2.

Which MacBook Modal for Programming?

At my job, we have one huge project which uses Next.js and it’s not written well about performance. On my old laptop, I was waiting at least 2 minutes to only change the page, and server side scripts were loading in too much time. Now, I have base modal MacBook Air M2 laptop and I am changing pages in seconds.

Of course, I am a frontend developer and I am not doing huge renders, or I am not using Android Studio. But at least for now, I didn’t feel any minuses of using the Air modal but not Pro.

Is 8 GB MacBook Enough?

For me, yes. It’s definitely yes. It will be yes after 5 years either. My salary also says yes. So, the short answer is yes. But check for performance tests with apps you are using, there are tons of them.

Last Words

I know this is a short article, but what else to write? If you have any questions, or if you want to test something on base modal M2, you can write on comments, we can figure it out together.

See you on the next article!

--

--

Selim Enes

Sharing my experiences on learning front-end development path and more.