Class of 1831

Richard Seltzer
Jul 19, 2022

--

Tee shirt for sale online

I saw her today at a book-swap box, where people drop off and pick up novels. Her tee-shirt read “New York University 1831.” I said she didn’t look old enough be in the class of 1831. She smiled, picked Time and Again by Jack Finney, and left.

Most time travelers don’t advertise their year of origin. This was a rare opportunity. I should have started a conversation.

But I was speechless. I had never been to 1831 and couldn’t remember anything that happened then.

List of Richard’s other stories, book reviews, essays, poems, and jokes.

--

--

Richard Seltzer

His recent books include Echoes from the Attic, Grandad Jokes, Lizard of Oz, Shakespeare'sTwin Sister, To Gether Tales. and Parallel Lives, seltzerbooks.com