Decisive Moment

--

Photo by Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

When I was in college, I had many heated arguments with my father, about politics, the Vietnam War, just about everything. Then it suddenly dawned on me that whatever he supported, I was against, automatically. I thought I was being independent, but I was simply reacting to him, rather than thinking for myself.

For me, that was a moment of awakening. From then on, I hesitated before responding, and tried to judge issues on their merits, even if that meant sometimes agreeing with my father. Likewise, I didn’t simply accept the opinions and behavior of my classmates and friends.

To achieve true independence, you need to be true to yourself.

List of Richard’s other stories, poems, jokes, and essays.

--

--

Richard Seltzer

His recent books include Echoes from the Attic, Grandad Jokes, Lizard of Oz, Shakespeare'sTwin Sister, To Gether Tales. and Parallel Lives, seltzerbooks.com