Getting Personal

Richard Seltzer
2 min readOct 2, 2021

Excerpt from “Why Knot?” Buy the book at Amazon

In my reading, I sometimes stumble on passages that feel right, not as discoveries, but rather as a clear and cogent expressions of what I believed before, stimulating me to see my own thoughts from different perspectives.

Such was the case with a passage from Boethius, who wrote in the sixth century. In prison, awaiting execution at the random whim of King Theodoric of Italy, Boethius tried to make sense of life. He concluded that infinity, eternity, and chance reduce everything we might do to insignificance.

The endeavor to try to understand the nature of everything is unending. No single breakthrough, no individual contribution matters in the long run, because the process of discovery never ends. There’s never a moment when the answer is found. Every answer gives rise to new questions, which lead to new insights.

But I can arrive at a personal answers to the big questions, answers that help me to deal with day-to-day reality and to get a sense of fulfillment. I strive to find truth and meaning within the fabric and context of my life.

I’m on a personal quest to try to understand what matters to me as an individual, living here and now.

Excerpt from “Why Knot?” Buy the book at Amazon

List of Richard’s other jokes, stories and essays.

--

--

Richard Seltzer

His recent books include Echoes from the Attic, Grandad Jokes, Lizard of Oz, Shakespeare'sTwin Sister, To Gether Tales. and Parallel Lives, seltzerbooks.com