Grandad Jokes, Batch #8

Richard Seltzer
3 min readOct 4, 2021
Buy the book Grandad Jokes at Amazon

from the section Nonsensical Science, Philosophy, History and Religion in the book Grandad Jokes

201

The universe was created by accident.

Paradise was named for

the lucky pair of dice that got it all started

202

Editing your own novel

is like cutting your own hair.

Everything’s backward in the mirror of your mind.

It can be done,

but it takes practice and patience.

203

Sartre recently came back from the dead to tell me that he was wrong in No Exit.

Hell isn’t the others.

It’s ourselves.

Seeing ourselves, replaying our lives, over and over.

204

Someone on Twitter said,

“Don’t trust atoms. They make up everything.”

I replied,

“No. that’s only about 5% of everything.

The rest is dark matter, dark energy, the souls of the dead, angels, and gods.”

205

The carpenter ant was ostracized

for associating with a weird cult,

until he converted

and joined an in-sect.

206

Imagine what it would be like to be

in a perpendicular universe

207

Optimism and optics

probably derive from the same root.

To be an optimist

is to see clearly

208

She announced to the congregation

that to combat sexism in religion

for every him

they would sing a herm,

and in keeping with their forward thinking

instead of pastoress

should be known as futuress.

209

What did Jesus say to his mother

when ice started falling from the sky?

“Hail, Mary.”

210

My elementary school teachers

were probably all Buddhist.

When taking roll,

they all wanted us to say,

“Present.”

211

There’s no rest for the worry.

212

I’m still trying to deal with

Post Traumatic Birth Syndrome,

and I was born 74 years ago.

213

I don’t have a dog,

so I take myself for a walk twice a day.

He’s been behaving pretty well,

but I need to keep him on a tight leash.

214

When the skeleton was resurrected,

he became a bone again Christian.

215

The living language spawned sentient sentences.

216

When he said he wanted to be born again,

his mother freaked out.

“There’s no way I’m going through that hell again.”

217

The graph was asymptotic,

but she still might be a carrier for the virus.

218

The physicist became a vegetarian

so he could remember Avacado’s Number.

219

If a book falls in the forest and nobody reads it,

does it exist?

220

The preacher droned in a monotone,

and his congregation showed up full force every time,

hoping to become bored again Christians.

221

Thanks to Newton,

the math department was fully integrated.

222

The doctor warned the hyperbola

that although she was asymptotic

she still might be a carrier of the virus.

223

When you dye, what color do you think you’ll become?

Do you think you’ll have a choice?

224

As I get older, I’m noticing a widening gap between what I intend to do and what I do. I think about what do next, then I watch to find out what I actually do. It seems I’m not entirely in control of the part of me that wills and acts. Watch the gap.

225

A novel without time travel is either short-sighted or unrealistic.

Aging is time travel, and reading is as well.

Buy the book Grandad Jokes at Amazon

List of Richard’s other jokes, stories and essays.

--

--

Richard Seltzer

His recent books include Echoes from the Attic, Grandad Jokes, Lizard of Oz, Shakespeare'sTwin Sister, To Gether Tales. and Parallel Lives, seltzerbooks.com