Sonnets for Helen III by Ronsard

Richard Seltzer
Jul 14, 2022
Photo by Alex Harmuth on Unsplash

a free translation by Richard Seltzer

Helen, no, not Hell, but Heaven
-ly chill you refresh my heart,
your virtue rouses my strength,
and your eye leads me whither it will.

What happiness to suffer love pain
for that Hellenic name; sweet the sorrow,
blessed the torture, that comes
for eyes, no not eyes, but star,
yes, heavenly body of Helen.

Name that toppled Troy, cause of my distress,
my prudent Penny and my Helen too,
who with loving care enfolds my heart.

Name that raises me to the heights of heaven,
who’d ever thought that I’d uncover
a Penelope in that same classic lover?

(for an assignment in a translation class at U. Mass, 1971)

List of Richard’s other stories, essays, poems, and jokes.

--

--

Richard Seltzer

His recent books include Echoes from the Attic, Grandad Jokes, Lizard of Oz, Shakespeare'sTwin Sister, To Gether Tales. and Parallel Lives, seltzerbooks.com