The Energy Cycle

Richard Seltzer
May 19, 2022

--

Photo by Philippe Leone on Unsplash

When I was young, I looked for ways to save steps, to conserve energy. I sought the most efficient ways to do things so I could accomplish more.

In middle age, I went out of my way to take more steps. I ran up and down stairs for the exercise, and I exercised with no purpose other than to burn fat.

Now in old age, I have flipped back to the mode I was in when young — trying to save steps, to conserve energy, seeking the most efficient ways to do things, but for very different reasons.

What were the implications on public policy and the environment when baby boomers like me moved from young to middle age? And what are the implications now that we are in old age?

List of Richard’s other essays, stories, poems and jokes.

--

--

Richard Seltzer

His recent books include Echoes from the Attic, Grandad Jokes, Lizard of Oz, Shakespeare'sTwin Sister, To Gether Tales. and Parallel Lives, seltzerbooks.com