The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

Richard Seltzer
2 min readJul 18, 2022

Review of novel by Gabrielle Zevin

“Every word the right one and exactly where it should be. That’s basically the highest compliment I can give.” p. 92 That’s what one of the characters in this book says about a book she loves. Those words apply to this book as well. I told my best friend/partner, “You have to read this.”

On one level, this is a love story about two people who love books. “When I read a book, I want you to be reading it at the same time. I want to know what would Amelia think of it. I want you to be mine. I can promise you books and conversation and all my heart…” p. 154

In addition. it is a book about books and what books reveal about the people who enjoy them.
“People tell boring lies about politics, God, and love. You know everything you need to know about a person from the answer to the question, ‘what is your favorite book?’” p. 87

In addition to the story itself, I enjoyed the book recommendations. I just ordered stories by Alice Munro and the Jackson Brodie series by Kate Atkinson and Tamerlane by Poe.

Other passages I highlighted:

“A good marriage is, at least, one part conspiracy.” p. 155

“It is the secret fear that we are unlovable that isolates us… but it is only because we are isolated that we think we are unlovable. Someday, you do not know when, you will be driving down a road. And someday, you do not know when, he, or indeed she, will be there. You will be loved because for the first time in your life, you will truly not be alone. You will have chosen to not be alone.” p. 157

“We aren’t the things we collect, acquire, read. We are, for as long as we are here, only love. The things we loved. The people we loved. And these, I think these really do live on.” p. 251

“No man is an island; every book is a world. p. 8

“They had only ever discussed books but what, in this life, is more personal than books?” p. 8

“The thing I find most promising about your short story is that it shows empathy. Why do people do what they do? This is the hallmark of great writing.” p. 187

List of Richard’s other stories, book reviews, essays, poems, and jokes.

--

--

Richard Seltzer

His recent books include Echoes from the Attic, Grandad Jokes, Lizard of Oz, Shakespeare'sTwin Sister, To Gether Tales. and Parallel Lives, seltzerbooks.com