Don't Make This Mistake

Naveen Kumar
2 min readMay 7, 2019

--

Day 5 (#30DaysWritingChallange)

Hey, have you ever plan to launch your website?

If yes, you will surely need a domain name. And when you are choosing a domain name, you have to be very careful.

I was choosing a domain name for our WordPress company and I got the domain with TLD. I booked it.

I was about to make it live. But before that, I just started creating the Facebook fan page. When I tried to change the username, Facebook was not accepting the name. It was saying that “The name contains the words that are not allowed.”

I was surprised. I checked it many times. But I was not able to figure out. But later, when I checked the domain, it was containing the word “scam”, The domain was ThemesCamp.com.

But somehow, it has the word scam in it and which was violating the Facebook username policies.

Another example shared on Forbs.

itscrap.com — an IT company that also offers a hardware scrap program. Apparently, the company has realized that the world at large isn’t clamoring to partner with an itscrap firm and changed its URL to regencytechnologies.com.

So, always make sure to double check the domain by breaking it into different possible combinations before you book it.

Thanks for reading. It was my Day 5 of #30DaysWritingChallange. Feel free to comment below if you want to add your tip as well.

--

--

Naveen Kumar

I am SEO Professional by profession and a blogger by hobby, love to write about tech, seo, blogging and more. Check out my blog http://www.nextmashup.com