Move your symbols to library Sketch Plugin

Ahmed Abdelmageed
Design + Sketch
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2017

--

Last week I had task to split my project to work with libraries and create Design language system for my project.

I had in this project more than 2885 Symbol instances ๐Ÿ” attached to 150 symbol, i was really painful ๐Ÿ˜“ for me to reconnect all of this symbol again to new library.

so I decided not to take this approach and do it manually ๐Ÿคš. and use my coding skills ๐Ÿค˜ to develop a plugin ๐Ÿ’Ž that do it for me and save me a lot of time.

After 38 hours of continues coding ๐Ÿค˜ i had working version of my plugin finally.

Move to library Sketch Plugin

You can now move symbol from your project to any library ๐Ÿ” and re-attach all the symbol instances to this library. also it keep the overrides without any problems and it work with abstract that have libraries not in your local machine.

You can now move symbol from your project to any library ๐Ÿ” and re-attach all the symbol instances to this library. also it keep the overrides without any problems and it work with abstract that have libraries not in your local machine.

How it works

โœ… Select one or multiple symbols or symbol instance.

๐Ÿ” Select from the plugin menu ๐Ÿ’Ž โ€œMove All Symbols To Libraryโ€ or โ€œMove Selected Symbols To Libraryโ€ .

Choose your library and click select โœ…

Volaaaa ๐ŸŽ‰ you have the symbols re-attached ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Try the plugin and tell me you feedbacks

Download the pluginโฌ‡๏ธ
https://github.com/ahmedmigo/Move-to-library-sketchplugin/archive/master.zip

Donโ€™t forget to follow me on twitter Ahmed Abdelmageed, and clap ๐Ÿ‘

--

--

Ahmed Abdelmageed
Design + Sketch

Product designer at ebay classifieds group Sketch/Figma plugin maker