Don’t Feed The Bears

Hilary Tan
5 min readJun 17, 2022

It might not be easy, but you need to do this.

Image source: https://pixabay.com/

Are you familiar with the saying, “Don’t feed the trolls?”

This saying is essentially telling you that the best way to deal with trolls or people who are deliberately trying to provoke or anger you, is to ignore them rather than give them a mature response. This means that any time a troll pops up in an online situation making inflammatory remarks, you are supposed to ignore them because responding would derail the thread and give them the attention they want. Or so they say.

I use a similar saying, “Don’t feed the bears,” which is essentially the same thing as “Don’t feed [or provoke] the trolls.” Seemingly innocent people online can be trolls. Thus, if you let them live rent-free in your head, then you are letting them win. I recently wrote an article where I talked about the concept of letting someone live rent-free in your head you can read more about it here:

Related article: Are you letting someone live rent-free in your head?

Beware of the Bears

I recently encountered a blogger who took to her personal blog to wish me bad karma. She also left some inflammatory remarks that she later deleted. I, of course, saved screenshots to my phone which I can share if needed but I am not going to do that. I am not going to be…

--

--

Hilary Tan

Lifestyle & mental health blogger (◡‿◡✿) • Tired Millennial • Nurse by day & writer by night • Finding my inner goddess → www.sereneluna.net