The Art of Handing Over: A Fractional CTO’s Point of Success

Sergio Pereira
2 min readApr 10, 2023

--

Photo by Persnickety Prints on Unsplash

As a Fractional CTO, success means getting laid off.

Yes, you read it right. When my job is done, I’m out. And very happily so.

Let me explain.

I’m usually hired by early-stage tech startups, which don’t have:

  • A product.
  • A team.
  • Revenue and/or VC funding.

Several months after working with them, they already have:

  • A product.
  • A team.
  • Revenue and/or VC funding.

I help them go from 0 to 1!

The Core Work

Photo by Damian Zaleski on Unsplash

When I start working with them, there’s usually the Founders and maybe a dev shop and an intern. Nothing else.

These Founders use my help to assemble/manage a team of engineers to build their first MVP and land initial clients. There are usually 5 most common assignments involved in my career as a fractional CTO, including making key tech decisions and finding product-market-fit.

This traction brings them revenue and funding.

At that stage, the Founders want to hire a Full Time CTO, and they usually ask me to ramp up from Fractional to Full Time.

There were a couple times in the past when I accepted the challenge. But mostly, I decline the opportunity.

The Last Commitment

Photo by Cytonn Photography on Unsplash

As such, my last commitment to the client is to help hire a full time CTO and hand over my work.

Some important hand over activities:

  • Document product.
  • Document technology.
  • Document team.
  • Intro team members.
  • Intro tech vendors.
  • Ramp down to advisory capacity.

I recently wrote this guide on everything you should know about a Fractional CTO and I think it would bring you more clarity about this less-known career opportunity.

Follow me for more knowledge about remote work

I’ll be publishing new articles every week, and new social media content every day. If you enjoyed this article, follow me on Twitter or Linkedin, and stay in the loop. Share my content and drop a comment there. Let’s help more people learn about remote work.

--

--