Go Black and White

Vincent Louis Carrella
2 min readApr 2, 2019

--

There’s a timeless quality to a black and white photograph. It sort of strips away all but the essential you. I don’t shoot in black and white, I convert to it, which gives me more control over tone and texture. Today’s digital technology is incredible. I can’t imagine how much work the old school photographers did.

In black and white I can see//feel the essence of a person. Of course it’s not really just blacks and whites. There’s a whole gradient of grays. It’s all those grays that give you such a subtle look. There’s a quality of silver to them. I love that.

I usually give my clients some black and white options but rarely do people ask for them outright. More should. I find them arresting, these photos. They move me emotionally in ways that their color counterparts don’t.

Recently I did shoot a collection of portraits for a winery in which the client did want black and white versions for their website. That changed how I approached it in certain ways. Knowing the look they wanted, I shot for a more textural overall feeling. This worked really well for their aesthetic.

If you’re considering photos, for yourself or your team, think about going black and white. The photos will stand out and I think endure better the test of time.

--

--