Back to JavaScript

Seth Alexander
2 min readMay 23, 2017

--

So I’m back in JavaScript world again. Since I had done a lot of the intro stuff during my Bootcamp Prep work I spent tonight mostly skimming over everything I already had done to remind my mind how to think JS. I have to say, it didn’t come back quickly when I was reading it. The first lab I worked on, well the only lab I worked on, was slow. However, the functions and syntax came quickly. I feel good now that I’m done for the night. Like my brain is back to JS somewhat. I didn’t get the lab completed which was a bummer. I can look at how simple it is and know that I would have finished it in the same amount of time in Ruby but that’s fine. It’ll come quickly. The biggest thing is I know how to solve these problems better now. I just need to find equivalent functions in JS to get what I need done.

One thing I spent some time on was figuring out how to access a local “JS playground” in the terminal. It’s just easier to hit a key combo and pop into the terminal in my IDE and test than to switch over to the browser. It took asking and some searching but I finally came up with running node to bring up a repl (pretty sure I can’t explain this so read the Wikipedia and be more confused). Also, to exit out of it process.exit() is used. This was a nice find because I was spoiled by IRB, Pry, byebug and such in Ruby.

I didn’t technically finish any lessons tonight but I felt like I got alot done.

Time spent today: 2:23
Time spent total: 323:28
Lessons completed today: 0
Lessons completed total: 519

Back to Day 84. Continue to Day 87.

If you know someone that is thinking about doing an online coding bootcamp, please share this article on Facebook and Twitter.

And please click the 💚 below so that other people will see this here on Medium. Thank you for reading.

Originally published at itzsaga.github.io on May 23, 2017.

--

--

Seth Alexander

Husband & Daddy. Engineer @EvidenceCare. @FlatironSchool graduate.