Day 10 of Flatiron School

Seth Alexander
2 min readMar 9, 2017

--

I got a lot done this morning. Especially after the coffee kicked in. When I started I was definitely not 100% awake. I even did some extra credit on a lab which I typically do not do. I’ve never been the type to want to score 105 on a test because I aced it AND the extra credit. I did this one specifically because I knew it wouldn’t take much time as I was writing a generic method for a specific method I had just completed. Basically inserting place holders where the original problem had specific items.

So first I solved this:
Advanced: Try building a method swap_elements_from_to that takes in three arguments, array, index, destination_index, that will allow you to specify the index of the element you would like to move to a new index.
Like this:

Then I did this:
Advanced #2: Try writing test coverage for it! Like this:

And it worked!

I successfully wrote my first test! I was stoked! I know that I’ll have to write my own tests in the future so this small win was nice.

As I kept on working, I must say, the fact that I got this as an error is awesome:

I can definitely see why test driven development (TDD) makes so much sense. I had been thinking it was almost like doing double the work but I could’ve been stuck there forever because of one letter.

Time spent today: 2:39
Time spent total: 41:07
Lessons completed today: 9
Lessons completed total: 218

Go back to Day 9. Continue to Day 11.

If you know someone that is thinking about doing an online coding bootcamp, please share this article on Facebook and Twitter.

And please click the 💚 below so that other people will see this here on Medium. Thank you for reading.

This originally appeared on my blog here.

--

--

Seth Alexander

Husband & Daddy. Engineer @EvidenceCare. @FlatironSchool graduate.