Did I Really Finish Rails?

Seth Alexander
2 min readMay 20, 2017

--

My Rails project is officially done! Well, it officially fulfills all the requirements that Flatiron School has for it. I definitely have more to do with it. However, considering that I’m done almost a day and a half before my self set deadline I’m happy. Some minor things in my views (like showing just a user’s items instead of all items), building out a more robust navbar, filling out my readme, and I should be good. I also want to change my Oauth login into a button with a logo on it. I’m trying to no code “raw” html but I’ll probably end up doing it for that. Using Font Awesome and Bootstrap inside and ERB tag is just a pain haha.

My largest hangup was my nested forms and getting them to work properly. Although, I felt better this morning when I reached out to a public Ruby Slack room and a guy who’s a bootcamp instructor (not at Flatiron where I attend) said,

yeah, that’s the worst. Dealing with nested forms is always something I have to go back and read the manual on.

I felt a lot better about the struggle life.

Check out the repo here. I’ll share the link tomorrow when I get it deployed (hopefully). I’m hoping that deploying is more straightforward since I used PostgreSQL. Not sure how well dotenv is going to play with Heroku. I know others said Figaro made it dead simple to deploy with so I might do that if I hit any snags. I wish I had more to talk about with my process but I think it’s all there is the 100+ commits lol. That and I have tacos waiting for me as soon as I finish this blog post up, get it posted, link to it in my porject page, and officially submit my project.

It feels good to be at this point. Even if a little surreal at how far I’ve come in <3 months.

Time spent today: 8:27
Time spent total: 317:08
Lessons completed today: 1
Lessons completed total: 519

Go back to Day 82. Continue to Day 84.

If you know someone that is thinking about doing an online coding bootcamp, please share this article on Facebook and Twitter.

And please click the 💚 below so that other people will see this here on Medium. Thank you for reading.

Originally published at itzsaga.github.io on May 20, 2017.

--

--

Seth Alexander

Husband & Daddy. Engineer @EvidenceCare. @FlatironSchool graduate.