So Close to the End

Seth Alexander
4 min readJul 5, 2017

--

It’s been about 3 weeks since I last blogged. I put my head down and sprinted towards the finish line. I can’t say that I’m 100% done, yet, but I will be soon. I have completed my final portfolio project and have my assessment for it tomorrow. I must say, Redux threw me for one while working on this project. I hit many stumbling blocks building this project. I think my sprint was alittle ambitious and I ended up not knowing the Redux stuff as in depth as I wanted to. I definitely created some of my own frustration because of this. However, I hacked away at it and got it. I watched YouTube videos, Wes Bos’s Redux Course, and I even used HackHands a couple times thanks to the Github Education Student Developer Pack $25 credit I received.

HackHands was an interesting experience. Getting help from people who were not native English speakers (I assumed that’s who I’d get considering I was doing this on July 4th) and being able to communicate how I was stuck. The two times I used it I didn’t get a direct answer to my question. However, I did see someone debug my code live and in the end the source of my problem was illuminated by the help.

So one problem I ran into was not getting the data from my API when I called fetchPlaces(). I was stumped. By all accounts it should be working. My API was returning proper JSON formatted data. I had:

I couldn't for the life of me figure out why I wasn’t getting the data that I needed back. I considered using parseJSON() but I didn’t think I needed to since the data being returned was already JSON. I was going to use it just like that as well. I wasn't accounting for the fact that I was using fetch() to retrieve the JSON from my API. For more about the small, but important piece, that I was missing take a look at Using Fetch followed by Body.json() on MDN. With that knowledge I was able to fix my call by implementing .json() on line 7 below followed by another .then which now has the proper data to pass into the payload.

Another issue I ran into was a CORS violation. CORS stands for “Cross-origin resource sharing” and can be described as:

Cross-origin resource sharing is a mechanism that allows restricted resources on a web page to be requested from another domain outside the domain from which the first resource was served. A web page may freely embed cross-origin images, stylesheets, scripts, iframes, and videos. Certain “cross-domain” requests, notably Ajax requests, however are forbidden by default by the same-origin security policy.
Wikipedia

If that doesn’t make sense, don’t worry. Just know that CORS is implemented for security on the web. However, it also meant that unless I explicitly stated that my React app could talk to my Rails API I wasn’t going to be able to get the data. Luckily, there is a pretty easy way to enable this and it only took a few lines of code. I first added gem 'rack-cors', :require => 'rack/cors' to my Gemfile and ran bundle. Next I had to add some code:

This enabled my React application running on localhost:3000 to talk to my Rails API server running on localhost:3001 with no problems.

Ultimately I learned A LOT doing this project. I’m not 100% happy with where my app is at currently. However, to my understanding it fulfills all the requirements of the project and that’s what I was shooting for. I can see abstracting it away from the back end and setting it up to pull all data from an external API call instead. Having built the back end though I know that it’ll always work the way I want it to and thus is a more stable project to include in a portfolio.

Check out Foodie View and see what you think for yourself. I’ll get it up on Heroku soon and will link to it from GitHub.

Time spent total: 457:50
Lessons completed total: 689

Go back to Day 109.

If you know someone that is thinking about doing an online coding bootcamp, please share this article on Facebook and Twitter.

And please click the 💚 below so that other people will see this here on Medium. Thank you for reading.

Originally published at itzsaga.github.io on July 5, 2017.

--

--

Seth Alexander

Husband & Daddy. Engineer @EvidenceCare. @FlatironSchool graduate.