Thoughts On The Massacre In Pittsburgh

Seth Goldstein
2 min readOct 29, 2018

--

What happened to Pittsburgh this terrible, horrendous and unconscionable.

It happened in a synagogue, but could happen anywhere and has happened in other places of worship and places of education.

Two days after what happened in Pittsburgh, I’m still trying to deal with the fact that something like this could happen in this day in age. I’m sad and I try and not think about what’s going on in this country. The thought of our President visiting Pittsburgh should be a good thing but it isn’t. He is a figure who has helped encourage this hate. Those in politics and places of power need to know that their words mean something and can affect people much more than just their minds.

My son goes to a Jewish Day School in the afternoon. I’d be lying if I wasn’t really nervous today. I know they have security measures in place but I also know that they are only so good.

I brought up what happened in Pittsburgh on Saturday up at work today and was shocked to find out the lack of empathy my co-workers feel towards things that don’t affect them.

This could happen anywhere and to anyone but it didn’t this time it affects a community that I’m part of and it hurts me to my core.

I don’t expect people to fully understand why I’m still reeling from what happened, but I’m still shocked when people just don’t give a crap about anyone else other than themselves.

Yes, it didn’t happen in Philadelphia or Doylestown, for that matter, but it happened to fellow Americans. It’s time to give a shit. It’s time to take a stand and do something about this rhetoric that is causing this toxic mess that where in today.

I’ve been rambling, I know, but I had to get this out. I want to know your thoughts to please post your thoughts in the comments below or hit me up on social media.

Originally published at Seth M. Goldstein.

--

--

Seth Goldstein

Editor/Writer of the Marketing Junto Newsletter and podcaster at Entrepreneur’s Enigma and Digital Marketing Dive.