My Roller Coaster Ride at Barclays: A Journey etched in Memory

JATIN SETHI
3 min readAug 11, 2023

--

Date: June 12, 2023

As the sun rose on that fateful morning, little did I know that it marked the beginning of an incredible journey at Barclays. The sparkling lights of the lavish building seemed to dance in my eyes, reflecting the excitement and anticipation building up within me. The office, a masterpiece of modern architecture, comprised two grand structures: Infinity and Harmony. Walking through those doors, I realized this summer internship was going to be more than just work; it was going to be an experience of a lifetime.

Awe-Inspiring Infrastructure: Where Dreams Met Reality
Stepping into the vast expanse of the Barclays building, I felt like I had entered a realm of innovation and sophistication. The gleaming lights illuminated every corner, setting the stage for a journey that was about to unfold. Infinity and Harmony, the twin buildings, stood tall, symbolizing the bank’s commitment to reaching new heights. It was hard to fathom the magnitude of the place; it felt like a dream come true.

A Supportive Network: Welcoming Faces and Warm Hearts

From day one, the people at Barclays made it clear that this wasn’t just a workplace; it was a community. I was fortunate to be placed in the RFT (Risk Finance Treasury) team, under the guidance of the affable Subhasis Sir, my Line Manager. As I mingled with my new team members, I was struck by their experience, humility, and camaraderie. These were individuals who not only excelled in their roles but also went out of their way to support and encourage newcomers like me. The warmth and unity I witnessed within the team assured me that I was in the right place.

Unforgettable Perks: Luxury and Relocation

Barclays didn’t just offer an internship; they presented an all-encompassing experience. Along with the chance to explore the intricate dynamics of a global bank, we were treated to incredible perks, including a luxurious stay at the Hyatt Regency. The perks didn’t just stop at material comfort; they symbolized Barclays’ commitment to nurturing its interns and providing a holistic learning environment.

As my journey at Barclays unfolds, I’m filled with a sense of gratitude for the experiences I’ve had so far. From the awe-inspiring infrastructure to the supportive team and the incredible learning opportunities, each day feels like a step toward personal and professional growth. As the days turn into weeks and the weeks into months, I eagerly anticipate what the rest of my internship has in store for me. With the foundations laid during these initial days, I can’t help but feel that my journey with Barclays is destined to be an unforgettable one.

--

--

JATIN SETHI

🌟LOVE TO FACE CHALLENGES. ✨LOVE TO SPREAD HAPPINESS AND GOOD VIBES✨CREATIVE THINKER. 🌟WORKAHOLIC.....