Sharon Falduto
8 min readDec 3, 2021

--

Pinned: Welcome to The Hive, the Facebook group for parents whose little worker bees are all grown up and ready to leave the honeycomb! This group is for advice and support. Remember our motto at The Hive: Bee Kind!

***

Kelly R: Here’s a coupon for 20% off at Bed Bath and Beyond! I know a lot of us are shopping for sheets and towels for the kids! The code is APRILSHOWR

Maddie Q: Thanks mama!

Brenda G: THX! I’ve been meaning to get some of those extra long dorm sheets.

Karen S: My DS won’t use a top sheet. He just sleeps under his blanket. Ugh! Boys, am I right?

Kelly R: Ha ha I know!

Barb N: You should tell your son he has to use a sheet. It’s so unhygienic not to!

Karen S: I try, but he just doesn’t want to listen!

Maddie Q: What about mattress toppers, do we need those?

Kelly R: Probably. Without them, dorm mattresses feel like sleeping on a high school gym wrestling mat

See 492 more replies

****

Barb N: I just got my EFC from the FAFSA. It’s $87,000! Who do they think we are? We don’t have that kind of money! I don’t understand why I am expected to pay so much when some people just get money for free.

Kathleen R: Do you mean scholarships?

Barb N: No, I mean, maybe my husband should just quit his job and be poor and then my kids can get Pell Grants.

--

--

Sharon Falduto

Most likely to write about: Iowa, Micky Dolenz, Random Lists of Condiments, Kids or Whatever