My thoughts on Scarlet

Shaan Kaur
2 min readDec 30, 2023

--

I absolutely loved this book (and the first book in this series (link at the bottom of the page)). It was gorgeous with the romance, and the couples. Beautiful. ❤

♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️ — Marissa Meyer

This book was beautiful. I absolutely love Wolf, even though he did betray Scarlet that one time. I think he had been observing her from a distance for quite some time, because he said he wanted to impress her. And, I mean, I don’t know about you, but I would not impress a stranger

And then when Scarlet was locked up, Wolf wanted to protect her from the pack (thought he was the one who brought her straight into the clutches of said pack).

I really liked the references to Little Red Riding Hood, the fairytale we all heard growing up. The Wolves (the pack) were a perfect Easter egg to the wolf in the story. And upon further inspection (and extensive observation on Pinterest head canons), I found out that Wolf and Scarlet signified Beauty and the Beast, I will never watch that movie the same again.

I assumed that Michelle would die, I just didn’t realise it would be in front of Scarlet. I had heard Michelle’s name before in Cinder, I just hadn’t realised that they were the same person. So, Michelle houses Selene (or Cinder) with Scarlet when they were young. And then Michelle gave Selene (or Cinder)to Garan (Cinder’s stepdad) who probably knew who she was but died before she knew she was Selene.

When Wolf was being controlled by the Thamurtages (not sure how to pronounce, so knock yourself out), and he was being really rabid, he still protected Scarlet. He didn’t hurt her or anything. And that was the moment I knew he was in love.

At the end, with the references to Alphas and how they mate for life, I found that adorable. My heart was literally melting. And when Wolf said “You’re the only one, Scarlet. You’ll always be the only one.” I was so happy.

I also really liked Thorne. He was pretty desperate, tryna get almost every girl him and Cinder came across, but he seemed pretty cool. I like him.

Cinder: https://medium.com/@shaankaur.2010/my-thoughts-on-cinder-0db5e526fb79

--

--

Shaan Kaur

I am a young dreamer who is motivated to be a writer