10 Throwback Startup Homepages

Shaan Puri
@shaanvp says
Published in
4 min readJun 18, 2015

(before they were famous)

I recently was talking to a friend who works in venture capital, and he told me something interesting:

After an hour long meeting — If I can’t pitch the startup in 6 words or less, I almost never invest.

6 words eh?

I began brainstorming what those 6 words might be for Blab, but first I tried testing this method on other successful startups.

The process was simple:
1. Come up with what the 6–word pitch would be if I was the founder

2. Check the wayback machine to see if that’s actually how they presented themselves back before they were famous.

Here’s 10 landing pages I dug up from right when these startups were getting off the ground:

1. Uber

my guess: “push a button, get a ride.”

Here’s the landing page from early 2011, shortly after launch:

This makes sense. They started off as a service that brings the luxury of a private driver to “everyone”. Today, they focus on the simplicity/certainty of the service “just tap to get a ride”.

2. AirBnB

my guess — “forget hotels, stay with a local.”

bingo! almost got it word for word

Boom! Got it almost word for word.

The concept for AirBnB is so weird, that I think this was a brilliant choice. They made Airbnb sound like a more adventurous way to travel (instead of just a ‘cheaper’ way to travel, a la Couchsurfing).

​3. Snapchat

my guess: send self-destructing pictures to friends

warning: shield your eyes from this landing page…

OK it’s cheesy as hell.

BUT, The “hero image” actually is intriguing. It’s hard to get stock photos that fit the vibe you’re going for. This pic made it feel fun / scandalous.

4. Rap Genius

my guess: “find out what rap lyrics actually mean.”

so close!

As silly as it sounds, Rap Genius solves a pain point. People look up lyrics to figure out what the hell rap songs are about. ​

5. Facebook

my guess: “connect with everyone at your university.”

Here’s what they had on “thefacebook.com”. (I prefer my guess).

6. ​Spotify

my guess: “listen to any song in the world, instantly.”

7. Lyft

my guess: “forget taxis. Get a ride from someone near you”

I thought this one was a bit confusing. My friends pick me up? If I wanted that, why wouldn’t I just text them?

Now they use a simpler: “get rides in minutes”.

8. MailChimp

my guess: “A simple way to send newsletters”

my how far we’ve come with design..

9. Etsy

my guess: “find & buy beautiful hand made stuff”

10. Google

my guess: “find out about anything on the internet”

Hmm. What’s better. Dropping “the” on Thefacebook. Or “google” from Google Search.

In summary:

2 observations

  1. You’re probably over-thinking it. (“if you’re not embarassed with your v1, you’ve shipped too late”)
  2. Most startups follow this format: “benefit you get” + “1 differentiator”.

11. bonus! Geico back in the year 2000

they have literally been saying this line for 15 years in a row.

--

--