Alto: Chapter 01

The Arrival

Shadows
4 min readMay 11, 2024
Photo by Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

“You Have to Go!! The time is approaching. I’ll meet you there, Keelo”.

“These were the words. It keeps repeating in my head like a tape recorder.” I said to the therapist who was watching me with his legs crossed.

“Who said those?”

“I don’t know. It sounded like from a girl.”

“When did you first hear?”

“About a week ago.”

“Any medical records? Kinds of Stuff like schizophrenia? Memory loss?”

“No”

Therapist Rosano took a deep breath. He looked at me with amusement. “Can you be a little more honest? If you don’t I have to start my hypnotic session with you.”

“I am being honest. And I don’t want that session.”

“Ok! Who the hell is Keelo then? A movie character?”

“I don’t know”

Rosano looked at the wall clock and then me. “Your time is up. Come after a week. I’ll prescribe some medicines.” I got up from my chair, so do Rosano. He told me a nice goodbye for paying him a big amount of cash.

My phone vibrates and a text arrives from Howard.

Howard: I’m here, Where the hell are you?

Me: Finished the session. Wait for my arrival.

Howard: Already finished 2 coffees. Hurry Up, dude!

I settled my phone into my pocket and looked around. The busy streets were filled with people and the sounds of vehicles. I prefer a calm environment than a stress one. It makes me sick.

I entered into the coffee shop in the corner of white street and saw Howard was waving towards me from the corner seat of the shop.

“Nice view! I always like to be here.” Howard said looking outside while I setting myself on chair. “You almost coming here every day” I replied with a forced smile. Howard was in his work cloths, and I think his shift is over or he’s in his break. I don’t think his shift was over because there were 2 cups and plate with shards of cake, which finished before around fifteen minutes.

Howard looked at me and grinned. His 32 white teeth appeared, they were neat and clean. “You take quite a time to care yourself more. I envy that.” Howard’s face light up. “I am quite a self-care guy” he said. “You never said how was your session?”. “Fine” I said picking up the menu. “I think this is the effect from ALTO.” “No one remembers what the hell happened there Sam! Not even a word”. There was a firmness mixed with angry in his voice.

“But I” I said. “Did you say anything about Alto to Rosano? That’ll breach the contract.” he said in the lower voice. “No” I replied. I elaborated my session to him incase to avoid suspicion. “I think Rosano would have called the police by now.” I finished. “That’s funny! buddy. Yeah, he should have” Howard started laughing and we turned as a subject for everyone.

“Lower the sound!” I said to him in the husky voice. “Yup, bro!” he controlled his mouth. And that looked funny. Howard is an enthusiastic, funny creature in our workplace, I won’t say that. “Was my name is Keelo in Alto?” I asked Howard before my departure. Howard’s face changed and replied “No one remembers those things, Sam. Go and take a rest. I’ll file the leave for you.”

“Thanks, Howy!” and I left that place. Howard was still there, maybe looking for someone.

My apartment was silent now because the Neighbour of mine shifted to another to my relief. He would be shouting around people here especially me, which was a mild irritation. I bought my lunch here; I was in no mood to cook. I poured a glass of whisky.

I tuned the TV to the movie channel and sat on the sofa. It was like a heaven after a traumatic session and a meet with a terrific guy.

I was in half sleep when I hear the banging in my door. TV still tuned on and I was lying in sofa and my whisky glass on the ground. I went to the door and checked my door cam. There was girl outside continuously pressing my doorbell and banging. “Who the hell is she?” I said to myself and returned to my sofa. I didn’t care her until that moment.

“I know you are here. Just open the door.” she shouted.

I know that voice. I recognize it. The girl’s voice which was echoing in my dreams for a week. I opened the door. I was amused, my eyes widen, and my mouth opened because I never met her in my lifetime. She was wearing a green T-Shirt and black jeans. Her hair was black, wavy and she left it loose.

“It is really nice to meet you here, Keelo!” She said with a grin.

To be continued…

--

--