Setting Up the SKG V7 Smartwatch

Tanvir Ahmed
4 min readMar 31, 2023

--

https://amzn.to/40N6BAE

Smartwatches can be helpful yet also really expensive. If you think you don’t have the funds to put out for a smartwatch, there are some budget models that may do all the necessary functions. This review covers the SKG V7 Smartwatch to see if it covers both of those metrics: budget and necessary functions.

Setting Up the SKG V7 Smartwatch

To prove that the SKG V7 Smartwatch includes what’s necessary, it ships with only three items:

  • Smartwatch
  • Charging cord
  • Quick start guide

Before setting up the smartwatch, you need to charge it to 100%. The charging cord fits into a standard USB-A charging brick and magnetically attaches to the back of the watch.

I had a little difficulty pairing it with the Veryfit app (available for both iOS and Android) once it was fully charged.

It started setting up, asking me to give permission to data, such as steps, heart rate, and sleep. A screen popped up asking to “Start to Use” It also asked me to tap a green checkmark on the watch to “Complete the binding.” This meant pairing.

Another screen asked me to complete pairing on my smartphone.

My screen froze at this point and wouldn’t go further. I had to factory reset the phone to proceed.

The watch produces a QR code that you have to scan to proceed.

Next up was registering my account, then the “binding” of the SKG V7 Smartwatch to my phone.

After choosing which notifications to get on the watch, it will show the right data, time, etc.

Using the SKG V7 Smartwatch

The SKG V7 Smartwatch has several watch faces to choose from.

You’re also able to choose which health data to track: heart, stress, drink water, walking, and period tracking.

Tracking stress was something unique to me. It’s not offered on my Apple Watch. I wore my Apple Watch and the SKG V7 Smartwatch side by side during my testing to compare.

You can also choose which “Shortcuts” to show on your watch screen: health data, heart, steps, last activity, weather, and music control.

The SKG V7 Smartwatch will track your walking, running, and other workouts. You can begin from the app or the watch itself.

I walk every day but Sunday and follow with some yoga, and I was able to track both. I also lifted weights one day and did Pilates another. I was able to track those as well.

This was at the beginning of my first walk, with the SKG on the right. There was just a little time difference in starting the two. I listened to an audiobook as I walked and could do so through my phone and control it through the watch, and it would work for music or podcasts too, obviously. You can also receive your calls through the watch.

After my walk, the data differed slightly, and I assume the difference was the moments when each watch tracked my heart rate last.

The Veryfit app will show the GPS of your run. It wasn’t able to do this when walking — only running. I had told the watch I was running even though I was really walking.

--

--