TWTW- Week 1, October 2018

Activities of week 5 of WIT learning program — Rethink Foundation.

Bhairavi Shah
3 min readOct 7, 2018

I can’t believe the program is coming to an end. This was the most incredible 5 weeks with zero time wasted. I was up and running all the time. After all keeping up with my peers in the program was not so easy, they are all full of energy and passion.

The program had been extended by a week because most girls in the program were having exams including me. But fortunately or unfortunately I now had to do both simultaneously, study for my exams and activities of the program, both were equally important to me. But I #figureditout and I actually managed to pull it off quite well! (more than what I expected at least).

From last week, I had one activity left, its hard deadline was this week. It was to interview a GHC scholar. I googled a lot, searched on Linkedin but I didn’t find anyone who I wanted to interview. After my coach call with Paavini on Tuesday, when she told me about Ivana Irene Thomas. I quickly drafted an email after reading more about her, I knew I wanted to interview her. After I sent her the email was the difficult part, waiting for a reply. After a day and a half I got a positive response! I was excited and nervous at the same time. Here is the link to the interview :

I really loved interviewing her! She was so motivating and inspirational. I hope to stay in touch with her.

This week was #apply and we had to actually put all that we had learned over the past few weeks into practice. There were 2 parts to the application. The first part included adding links to all the things we had done till now:

  1. TWTWs
  2. Coach Calls
  3. Interview with scholar
  4. Intro Video link
  5. Personal Website link
  6. Wiki
  7. Bot
  8. Bot Website
  9. Bot’s Demo Video
  10. LinkedIn Profile

The second form consisted of questions for us to answer. And I completed my application beautifully. I will be submitting it right after I publish this article. Fingers crossed. Let’s hope my dream does come true.

Serious discussion with everyone at the open house on Thursday. :)

My 3rd coach call with Paavini when she was in Houston :

My 4th and last final call with Paavini :

Paavini Nanda was a wonderful coach and I had a wonderful experience connecting with her. I will definitely keep in touch with her :) Glad I got to meet her.

Key Learnings :

  1. Be Patient
  2. Think properly before making a decision
  3. You value someone or something only when it is no longer there. ( I will miss the program)

I would like to thank Arya Murali and the WIT Program for making this Learning experience so wonderful and amazing.

--

--