AN ASIAN GROCERY SELLING SPELLS: STORY OF SPICES

Kitty Shah
2 min readNov 14, 2018

This is a story of an Nepali grocery that I visited a couple of months ago and the spells of spices it was selling.

It was a bright sunny December afternoon as I was walking through the streets to my work. I often saw a grocery with large signboard which had mountains and herbs displayed. I thought of taking a look at the store and what it sold. The grocery only sold spices and herbs along with other different Nepali food items probably clear with its Nepali Grocery layout and peaceful music.

I was well known to the fact that these Nepali cuisines were unique for their intense use of spice and were often distinct. I am just an amateur chef in a restaurant, and we were about to add Nepali recipes on our menu. A Nepali grocery I thought was a good place to start ,Given that I was never so good at starting a conversation I had to start with a query for a dish advertised in the store called Aloo Tama. I asked one of the employee in that grocery about the advertised dish. He told me that it was a popular dish in Nepal which they prepared mixing potato, bamboo shoot, and spices. I was always interested in international cuisines and their details that I couldn’t stop throwing questions at him.

I was more interested in recipes which used a variety of spices and also had that authentic Asian taste. He recommended me to try the priory mentioned dish ‘Aloo Tama’ as it was shared somehow similar cooking style though still had that typical Asian cuisine taste. I needed some spices to work with, so I bought garam masala, garlic and onion paste and few herbs. The Nepali grocery is just a few blocks away from our restaurant; we could come anytime to get the required spices and herbs.

It often amazes me that how different part of our life simple as cooking food also helps us know about different other cultures around us. Since then I have always been a regular visitor in that Nepali Grocery looking to create a culturally blended recipe.

--

--