Made in Bangladesh: Are our consumer choices to die for?

Shahnaz Ahmed
5 min readMar 28, 2018
Tea gardens behind my grandparents’ house in Sylhet, Bangladesh

‘Beautiful!’

‘Heaven!’

‘Looks perfect!’

‘Are you in paradise?’

After posting images and Stories on my personal Instagram page during my recent trip visiting family in Bangladesh, so many of my friends asked me how it’s been in ‘paradise’ and it really did look like that on my social.

No lie, Bangladesh has some stunning scenery. But the whole week I was there I had a dull ache in my chest and I’ll tell you why…

Bangladesh, is beautiful.
Like really, really beautiful.

The people are too.

But it’s also POOR.
Like SRSLY POOR.

On a vast level that’s incomprehensible.
A poverty so deep it’s hard to see a way out.

And it seeps its way into everything.
The air’s filled with dust and smells of open sewage.
Nothing looks pristine except nature.
People are rushed and hectic.
Products and services are inefficient.
Electricity cuts out often.

--

--

Shahnaz Ahmed

Senior Designer @LivityUK, Founder and Director @KnitAid