IA#4: My art experience at National Museum (Philippines)

Shaira Mae Puzon
4 min readFeb 12, 2016

--

I visited the National Museum last February 6, 2016 and it was my first time then. I went there with my friends in school, Austin and Paul, after I went on a seminar near the place. The experience was so fun because I finally got to see those national paintings and sculptures which I just see on our MAPEH books when I was in high school. Seeing those artworks done by different national artists creates an odd feeling maybe because there is so much to imagine and feel when looking at them.

THE SPOLARIUM by Juan Luna (1884)

Oil in Canvas

Behind me is a crowd which in that time discusses about the famous painting in front, The Spolarium by Juan Luna. Seated are students who I think were having a filed trip. This historical painting must be seen by every Filipino because it brings us back to the roots of our nation.

Gayuma (Enchantment) by Cenon Rivera (1975)

Oil in Canvas

This painting “Gayuma” for me, describes the beliefs of the Filipinos. We Filipinos are fond of believing things that are actually interesting even if we have different perceptions about it. Some might find it true or effective, while some are not. In the provinces, these kinds of belief are common already especially in the Visayas and Mindanao regions. 30 years after this painting was made, I wonder if “Gayuma” is still being believed by Filipinos.

Paintbrush on Green Rectangle by Rock Drilon (1888)

Acrylic and mixed media canvas

This painting caught my attention because I realized that one can make an extraordinary artwork even if just by the means of making the design simple plus putting a twist on it. But looking beyond the painting, I think the painter wants to be remembered not just by a painting, but also by a thing that will serve as his remembrance for the Filipinos. I wonder if the paintbrush attached to it is the paintbrush that is used in the painting though.

Woman in Distress by Benedicto R. Cabrera (2007)

Acrylic on canvas

This painting by Benedicto R. Cabrera made me laugh because I saw myself in the painting. I think this is how I look also when I am on my “tampo” mode, hahaha! The painting reflects a woman who might be experiencing problems that cause her to feel anxiety. This, for me, represents women who have struggles in life but chose to not give up.

Portrait of a Woman by Vicente Villaseñor (1891)

Oil on Panel

This is me posing beside a beautiful artwork by Vicente Villaseñor. I’ve always wondered if what if I lived in a different time? What if I was born in the early 19th century? How will my hair look like? How do I dress? This painting makes us see what it feels like to be a woman in 1891: conservative, dignified, and simple. I hope someone is painting how Filipinas look like these days so that future generations will be aware of how fashionable we are too!

A Barrio Girl by Diosdado M. Lorenzo (1946)

Oil on board

In my perspective, this is the Mona Lisa version of the Philippines because their smiles seem to be the same. I myself is someone who grew up in a province and I will always love the simplicity of life. When I saw this painting, I thought that if this lady and I lived in the same time and same place, I think we can build a good friendship because I feel that we have lot of things in common.

Torso by Napoleon V. Abueva (1952)

Adobe Stone

Napoleon Abueva is my favorite national artist because he contributed a lot on beautifying our country. His sculptures are the ones that will make everyone stare at them. This particular sculpture of Mr. Abueva is very sexy, haha! Its title, Torso, pertains to the trunk of the human body. This shows the curves of a Filipina. Also, I found out that Adobe is not just a software, but it is also a stone!

The First Mass in Limasawa by Carlos V. Francisco (1965)

Oil in Canvas

Limasawa, located in the tip of Southern Leyte, is where the first Cathollic mass in the Philippines was held. Father Pedro de Valderrama is the one who officiated the said even on an Easter Sunday of March 31, 1521. As of now, 86% of the Filipino population are Roman Catholics. It proves how faith can grow larger from a small group.

So, that’s it! I just showed the top 8 artworks that I loved at National Museum. For every Filipino, you should go to National Museum not only for experience, but also for you to find out how great we are as Filipinos.

I would like to acknowledge our professor in AESTHETICS, Sir Heinz Gapayao for these kinds of project that enables us to explore the world of art.

--

--