Meet the off-stage stars of the show: the Shakespeare’s Globe volunteers

Shakespeare’s Globe
6 min readDec 7, 2017

--

‘We are hither come to offer you our service…’ (Timon of Athens)

Everyone say ‘cheeeese’! Photo: Shakespeare’s Globe

When you visit Shakespeare’s Globe to see an iconic production, we think it’s really important to greet you with open arms. 650 pairs of arms to be exact.

Our expanding team of stewards over the years has grown into a family of volunteers, here to help visitors attending our London-based venue.

Earlier this year, 25 of our stewards were awarded with the Sam Wanamaker Award, celebrating two decades of dedicated volunteering.

Catching-up before Christmas (with crackers, of course). Photo: Shakespeare’s Globe

Giving over 60,000 hours a year of their precious time, we couldn’t be more grateful to have such an amazing team, and wanted to introduce you to some of their friendly faces.

Say hello to Marilyn, Sylvia, Flora, Stuart, Elle, Sue and Roger…

Marilyn

Marilyn was born in Trinidad in the West Indies, but has lived in London for most of her life. She worked in the NHS for many years but was always drawn to the arts.

“The 2017 Summer of Love was my first season at Shakespeare’s Globe,” she says. “Stewarding a Shakespeare’s Globe production, for me, is like being an extension of the cast. Our role is to help the audience to enjoy their experience whilst also helping with health and safety matters by working as a team with other stewards and staff.”

A volunteering social event marked the end of the 2017 season and a summer of hard work and happy memories: “The fancy dress was amazing. We chatted, ate, drank and danced together — actors, stewards, production teams and lots of other staff. Everyone looked so happy.”

“I enjoy volunteering at Shakespeare’s Globe because the location and site is beautiful and vibrant. Everyone is friendly and helpful and it is a pleasure to be there. I enjoy the role and I feel very supported and appreciated by everyone.”

Just another day at the office. Photo: Shakespeare’s Globe

Stuart’s been volunteering for two years, after being persuaded by his daughter in 2015 to join her for a performance of As You Like It.

“It was my first time at the Globe and I absolutely loved it,” he recalls. “During the interval I got chatting to one of the stewards, and it became apparent that he was a volunteer. I attended the Volunteer Open Day in the October and the rest was history!”

Stuart

“Stewarding at the Globe has been an amazing experience for many reasons. The Globe itself is a very special place and it’s a privilege to be able to spend so much time there. I’ve been able to meet lots of new people and make new friends from many different walks of life.”

“I enjoy all duties, however my favourite duty is being in the Yard. For me the Yard is the lifeblood of the Globe, never a dull moment! What I enjoy most about volunteering at the Globe is that no two shifts are the same. The audience is different for each performance and therefore you never quite know what to expect! Each shift throws up unexpected challenges, and it’s very rewarding being able to help people in many different ways. We get to meet so many interesting people, I think it’s the variety that keeps me coming back.”

Where the magic happens. The ‘Yard’ of Shakespeare’s Globe.

Roger’s Globe journey began in 2016: “The Globe is an iconic attraction in London — to be able to work there and share the excitement of Elizabethan theatre with visitors from all over the world, is a quite unique experience.”

In his first year of volunteering, Roger has also started volunteering at the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. Now retired, he truly believes that “using my time to give something back and at the same time enjoying myself must be the best possible way to volunteer.”

The Sam Wanamaker Playhouse is Shakespeare’s Globe’s indoor, candle-lit performance space.

Roger’s wife Sue has been stewarding since 2011, after moving to London 12 years ago and watching shows at the theatre every season. “I used to think how lucky the stewards were to be part of such a special place,” she says, “and it suddenly occurred to me that I could do that too.”

Sue and Roger

“The Globe is just such a special place. You feel part of something: close to the audience, seeing the smiles on their faces, seeing the sky (knowing you can get rained on!)… it all makes it so special. I also know that we stewards are valued by the Front of House team, and I appreciate that.”

Elle moved over to the UK from Greece in 1997, and as a mother of three, has been working full-time and volunteering since July 2016.

Elle

“I love theatre and wanted to be a small part of its magic, which is why I decided to apply to be a volunteer steward. It’s been more fun than I ever imagined!”

“The atmosphere at the Globe is unique: joyous and electrifying! One of my favourite duties is stewarding in the lower gallery; you feel like you are part of the action, being so close to the groundlings and stage.”

“We have different social events throughout the year for stewards and my favourite is our bake-off; prosecco and delicious, homemade cakes — what’s not to love?!”

“What I enjoy the most about volunteering at Shakespeare’s Globe is the interaction with patrons and fellow stewards — I’ve met many wonderful people. Being a busy, working mother of three, I consider volunteering my ‘me time’ — doing something I enjoy, in an exciting environment surrounded by lovely, interesting people.”

Great British Bake Off, eat your heart out!

Flora became a volunteer in 2015. She had just moved to London for university and was “struggling living in such a busy city away from [her] family”.

She saw Nell Gwynn at the Globe and remembers being “completely blown away. The atmosphere and the interaction between the audience and actors was incredible — I just wanted to be part of that, so as soon as I got back to my halls I looked up how to become a volunteer.”

“It was through volunteering here that I decided I wanted to work in theatre. Being surrounded by so many volunteers who are so passionate about Shakespeare and the theatre is incredibly inspiring. Seeing how the shows evolve over a run and watching how the audience interacts with the shows is always interesting and it’s nice when audience members find you after a performance to tell you how much they enjoyed the show.”

Sylvia and Flora

Last but by no means least, meet Sylvia, whose Globe journey began in late 1982 when she visited Sam Wanamaker’s museum at Bear Gardens, Southwark. “I soon started helping with mail outs in the museum,” she recalls, “and then I started stewarding in the little Jacobean theatre.”

“My children have all left home and I have known a lot of the stewards for twenty years. The Globe is my family now.”

Throwback to 2016. Maybe you’ll see yourself in our 2018 photo? Apply to be a steward today!

We are accepting new applications for volunteering. Come and be part of our family.

--

--

Shakespeare’s Globe

We celebrate Shakespeare’s transformative impact on the world by conducting a radical theatrical experiment. Our new blog is at: shakespearesglobe.com/blog