The Opportunities I Would Have Missed

A story of appreciation. 

Kira ✨
3 min readMay 15, 2014

O n September 11, 2009 when I was in eighth grade, I was the cantor for a Mass to memorialize the victims of the 9/11/01 tragedy. I remember that liturgy in particular as being very meaningful. I sang as a prayer and put my heart and soul into the music. When I walked back to my locker, my former seventh grade Social Studies teacher gave me a flyer advertising an audition for Cleveland’s Singing Angels. When I showed the flyer to my mom, she said, “Kira, I think you should do this.” I auditioned the next day and was accepted into the Performing Chorus, and have been a Singing Angel since then. Through our many rehearsals and concerts, I have gained self confidence and discipline, learned vocal techniques, and have matured in my social interactions.

The opportunity to perform at the prestigious Playhouse Square theaters and Severance Hall was a privilege. We competed in the World Choir Games in 2012 and earned a Silver Diploma. Because of our exposure to the Interkultur Organization that hosts the World Choir Games, we were invited to The Rhythms of One World International Choral Festival, held in Geneva, Switzerland, as one of seven choirs to celebrate the anniversary of the signing of the United Nations Charter. I am honored to be one of the Angels attending this event, and look forward to this chance of a lifetime.

Music has always been my forte. During my 11 years of piano study, I have had two phenomenal teachers, who have inspired me to maximize my abilities. Playing piano, Chopin etudes and waltzes and Bach Inventions, is invigorating, as well as therapeutic. I am certain that my future will always involve music. Being both a student of piano and a Singing Angel have given me a sense of achievement, adding to my character and self-esteem. Dave Somerville and the Diamonds sing:

As I disappear into my music

And the song grows deep inside my soul

I know if God wants me to use it.

The striving’s more important than the goal

And I think ‘what would I do without my music?’

These words speak for me: “What would I do without my music!”

Because of my musical ability, I was asked to assist the choir director at St. Joseph Church. Many of our choral pieces are motets from the European Renaissance era. I am responsible for teaching the soprano and alto parts. It thrills me to have this position as a high school senior, doing what I love most.

Academically, I have applied myself and excelled in my studies. Being a resident of Ohio, I took advantage of the opportunity to take college courses at Cuyahoga Community College through the Post Secondary Enrollment Option Program. By the time I graduate from high school, I will have 50 college credits. I do not take my education for granted. I know that I have been given the gift of intelligence, but the true gift is in the motivation of applying myself.

I entitled this essay, “The Opportunities I Would Have Missed” because if there was not a major deliverance in my life, none of the advantages I wrote about would have been possible. When I was three months old, I was left on the steps of a Civil Affairs Office in Feidong, China. I was taken to an orphanage where I remained one year before my mother came to adopt me and bring me to America. Though the circumstances regarding the events prior to my adoption have caused me grief, I realize my life was saved. Many children are left in the orphanage, never to be adopted by loving families.. Few are given an education or skills to prepare them for adulthood. Having been given a family has awarded me a sense of identity, values, morals, faith, and appreciation. I know how fortunate I am. I am forever grateful.

I used to always hear adults and school leaders say “go make a difference” or “change the world”. Until the last few years, I had no idea how I could make a difference in our world, but I do now. My biggest aspiration is to become a successful music therapist. I want to transform music into a healing medium for children and adults with mental or medical detriments. Music proves to be not only a universal language, but a remedy to heal wounds. I may never be a multimillionaire, but what I can do is use my gift of music to the service of others, one person at a time.

--

--