Abdul Sattar Edhi’s life stories having connection with my life

First Example having connection with my life:

Shakir Muhammad Sher
8 min readMar 1, 2016

With reference to the example from an autobiography of Abdul Sattar Edhi, “A Mirror to the Blind”; chapter two, page number 31, and fourth paragraph. In this Paragraph, Edhi sab, has discussed a sincere services that he provided to a poor person. He said, “one afternoon, my friend and I were going to a football match. Passing the main bazaar we saw a man lying on a platform outside a shuttered shop. He was wounded and shivered with high fever, I told my companion “you go ahead, I’ll join you later.” I returned home to my mother who gave me a mattress, a blanket, medicine, clothes, and some food. Then I went back, cleaned and bandaged his deep wound, wondered how he got injured but didn’t probe.” The story behind establishment of “Pro-Poor Foundation” is almost similar to his inspiring story.

Establishment of Pro-Poor Foundation

In summer vocation, July 2015, I went home to spend my holidays. I and some of my best friends over there were used to visit different areas of Skardu. One day we decided to visit, “Basha”, a place named in Balti; a village, which is one of a beautiful place in Baltistan. We reached there in the morning so I thought to visit a school first, then enjoy later beautiful places; to observe practically the education situation as I had heard of extreme poverty there. When we entered in the school the situation over there was harrowing, almost 80% of the students there were wearing filthy home dresses without uniform and stationery, in a plastic shoe which was not in the condition to wear, trying to study for a bright future. It was an extremely saddening and shocking moment to us which filled our eyes with tears. I was at least not expecting such a situation, we met with the teachers and discussed the situation they told, it is our compulsion to teach them in this condition as we can’t prohibit them as their home situations are visible to us; we are happy, they are having the courage to study and we are trying to give them best out of us. I talked with the students, they were sharing the same voices of poverty. An inspiring and motivational words of a student to my question, “why you are having no uniform and stationery?”, that touched my heart and develop an enthusiasm while building confidence in me to work for humanity was; he answered to my question, “our parents are hardly sending us in school, isn’t it enough because they prefer us to be a shepherd more to an educated person, because their output is visible to them. If we request for uniform and stationery then that day would be our last day in school, but we want to be an officer not a Shepherd.”

When we went into detail we found parents right about their priority because they were preferring three times meal to their children to education and it was there compulsion to make their son Shepard. It was a traumatic situation for us to hear the illiterate, highly conservative misty-eyed parent’s words which were giving an explicit response that they are more interested in educating their children but poverty has put them in their limit.

That day was an eye-opening day for us, awakened my inner humanity. After a long discussion, finally we approached to a conclusion and decided to introduce a foundation. It was given a name “Pro-Poor Foundation”. We decided on that day to cut 1000 rupees from our pocket money, monthly as an initiative to spread education; working for the betterment of education and to share our part the level best. From that month we are saving money. As this amount wouldn’t be enough for the dream we had seen but something would be verily better. We are decided in this year, summer 2016; to distribute stationery among all the deserving students of that area from that collected amount.

We have sent proposals to hundreds of people, for assistance giving them surety to share the every penny detail. We hope we would be successful in achieving our dream soon. As we are aimed to put all our efforts with a strong passion and patience.

Second Example and my life story:

With reference to the example from an autobiography of Abdul Sattar Edhi, “A Mirror to the Blind”; chapter two, page number 28 and second paragraph. Edhi sab, has discussed about a race which he always won and his friends were used to say “The race ends before it even begins”, and later he mentioned his strong self-esteem and trust in his own abilities and effort; which is effort never dies. He said, “I hated failure and knew that success was synonymous with effort, by which rule I believed I could win”.

My one of life story resembles with his motivational story, because I had, that times trusted in my efforts, believed in my potentials and abilities, with a determined goal, and I was 100% sure that my sincere efforts would never going to die.

“When I was matric, I was just like a guy continuously attending classes, without having any long term goal. I was not a hardworking person. One day a student, who was pursuing his degree from UET Lahore in mechanical engineering visited our school. All the teacher were giving him lots of appreciation, respect and honour. Our principle was taking him to all the classes giving students advice to be like him, sharing his hard works and hardships that he faced in getting reserve seat in UET Lahore. It was an inspirational and motivational moment for me, which made me to decide about my future and my long term goal. I decided that day to be a mechanical engineer from UET Lahore. It was my long term goal at that moment, while having three short term goal to make that possible. When a person determined a goal, he start developing in him the ability to absorb all the tribulations, cope with hardship and face all the obstruction on the way towards the static goal. His each and every activity get directly connected with his aim.

So for the determined goal, I had many challenges which was requiring a continuous & sincere effort and smart work. As Gilgit Baltistan has been allocated only a total of 49 seats in all the government universities of Pakistan. Every year almost 2500 pre-engineering students passed out from various colleges. In UET Lahore we are having only one reserve seat in Mechanical Engineering and our merit start from UET Lahore so toppers are nominated here. It was compulsory for me to acquire 2nd position on aggregate basis, among students of Gilgit Baltistan. Therefore my short term goals were to: (1) acquire maximum marks in matric; (2) obtain maximum marks in Intermediate; (3) secure maximum marks in ECAT test.

I put all my efforts in my matriculation as it was necessary to get an admission in a well reputed prestigious education. I managed to get a good marks and I got admission in, “Uswa Cadet College Islamabad”, which is one of the well-known institution. The two years over there was amazing to me, it taught me lots of lessons, groomed me mentally and physically. I was stuck to my aim so I focused on my study and studied day and night, as there was an official proper strict time table from 7 am — 11 pm. I managed to get passed out from Uswa, with a good marks that was 932/1100. At that moment, I was done with my second aim, with one more aim to successfully accomplish. I went to Abbottabad for ECAT preparation, as weather over there is most favorable to study instead scorching weather of Islamabad, where I cope with lots of hardship but I was having my aim at top priority, so I took all the tribulations so easily. Thanks to Almighty Allah, I managed finally, to get good marks in ECAT test with 301/400. I was third in Gilgit Baltistan on aggregate base still I was worried because I had to be second to acquire my aim, I had made my mind to repeat next year if I was not nominated for Mechanical Engineering in UET Lahore. Luckily the position holder had marked Civil Engineering, UET Taxila in the nomination form, so I got nominated for Mechanical Engineering at UET Lahore. Eventually after going through all the hardships and coping with all the obstruction I successfully acquired my dream.”

3rd Example and my life story:

With reference to the example from an autobiography of Abdul Sattar Edhi, “A Mirror to the Blind”; chapter two, page number 29 and third and fourth paragraph. He discussed his punctuality to prayers. He said, “when were heard Azaan,we dropped anything we were occupied with too hastily perform our ablution. Then from wherever we were we would charge to the mosque where we congregate to tease each other and play pranks until the next call. By the time, I was eleven years old, I was regular both in my prayers and my fasts” This story has a connection to what happened in my life that made me punctual, both in prayers and fasts.

“My beloved father is so much strict to prayers, when I was there he used to awaken me in the morning for prayer. He always advised me to offer prayer in time putting all the most important activities aside. While in UET, he once called me and asked about Morning Prayer; I said, I tried always to awake but most of the time I didn’t get the opportunity to offer in time. As soon as I finished the sentence, he said, “He who has no fear of God, how can I keep any expectation”. He quit the call and didn’t called me the whole week. I realized that moment and promise with myself to be always punctual to prayers. I called him and promised to be always punctual. From that day, I rarely missed Morning Prayer, but never the rest. I always set an alarm to offer Morning Prayer, and rest prayers in time.”

Lesson to Readers:

An immense lessons are there in the both stories. First and foremost is fixation of a long term goal with a thorough determination while considering all the obstruction, hard works and each & everything, that can hinder in achieving that goal. Second is strong self-esteem and trust in your efforts. Third is persistency towards goal, no matter how much intense resistances are there. Fourth is development of a quality to absorb failures, hug with tribulations and courage to try always again and again with passion and patience. Five is selfless determinations in life and building of a quality to serve humanity with what he/she have at least. Sixth is to have always fear of God, punctuality to prayers, avoidance from all the illicit activities and habits. Seventh is development of all the soft skills for a quality job, survival there and brightest career.

--

--