THE POWER OF HO’OPONOPONO

Shakti
3 min readMay 22, 2020

I’m Sorry, Please Forgive Me, Thank You, I Love You.

Ho’oponopono

“I just kept saying, ‘I’m sorry’ and ‘I love you’ over and over again. Turns out that loving yourself is the greatest way to improve yourself, and as you improve yourself, you improve your world.”

— Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len

Ho’oponopono is an ancient Hawaiian practice that combines love, forgiveness, repentance, and gratitude in four powerful phrases when said reflecting to yourself. Yep, that’s it. Four simple phrases that heal the soul. They are:

  1. I’m sorry.
  2. Please forgive me.
  3. I Thank you.
  4. I love you

I first heard of this spiritual phenomenon when reading an article about how a therapist in Hawaii, Dr. Len, cured an entire ward of criminally and mentally insane patients with this simple mantra. Dr. Len healed these patients without ever physically seeing them. He did it by sitting with himself, looking inward and repeating the Ho’oponopono with true heartfelt love.

“I just kept saying, ‘I’m sorry, ’ ‘please forgive me,’ thank you’and ‘‘I love you, over and over again. Turns out that loving yourself is the greatest way to improve yourself, and as you improve yourself, you improve your world. Whenever you want to improve anything in your life, there’s only one place to look: inside you. And when you look, do it with love. After a few months, patients that had to be shackled…

--

--

Shakti

Masters in Yoga🌞 Ayurveda-based Yoga for a Holistic Lifestyle 🌞Helping people connect with their inner selves through meditation