Rust Legacy Australia/NZ 2021

Oz Frugals
3 min readOct 8, 2021

--

My Story

Before you started reading, you can skip this section and scroll down to figure out how to start playing.

Honestly, it’s been Years since I’ve had the pleasure of playing Rust Legacy on an Australian Server; Yeah, Sure enough I’ve bit the bullet and played on Rusted & Legion despite these being located in Europe & Russia but it just wasn’t the same.

October 2021, I get a Discord Message from a close friend stating that there is a new Rust Server in the midst and it was a Legacy Server hosting right here in Australia. My Nostalgia Meter went through the roof — COVID-19 has hit my boredom so hard that I was over the moon to know that Two Uni Students had created this brand new AU/NZ Legacy Community named ‘AUSONE’

I spoke to Dee (Admin at AUSONE) because I curious to how they got their Name:

I called it AUSONE because back when Legacy was on Steam in 2013, I was the Head Administrator for Australia #1 in the Server Listings — It used to peak at 85 concurrent Players; it’d be an absolute dream to revive that, but yeah that’s how we got our name

I was pretty content knowing that this 2021 Legacy Server was in the hands of a capable Admin, someone who was an active member from the OG Days. Lets fast forward to my overall procedure.

How to Play AUSONE Legacy

  • Download the AUSONE Client
    They have a Download button on their website. The size is roughly 650MB compressed (ZIP) which extracts out to be 1.2GB.

You can also Join their Discord

  • Extract the Download to your PC
Preview of Extracted Files
  • Open the Launcher and set your Player Name
Set your Player Name in the bottom right corner
  • Press Launch Twice
    Once to set your name and once again to launch
  • You’ll automatically be connected to the AUSONE Server.

That’s It! Welcome to the AUSONE Community. The Community is still small but I have faith in their Admin Team. They are wiping their Server on a Bi-Weekly schedule (Every Saturday) and they’re also honing a pretty dam cool Patch Notes

If you end up joining the community. Please say Hey to me in General Chat. This is me doing my part in #SpreadingTheWord

Peace
SHAMAN

--

--