You will love it as much as I do

Shamita V. Kamlem
2 min readJun 22, 2023

--

Photo by Eva Blue on Unsplash

Growing up, I’ve always had an admiration for people who can design and make clothes. I grew up in Bangui, the capital of the Central African Republic (CAR); a developing country until this day. My father, sister, and I used to live in a nice neighborhood. My favorite neighbor was an old man named Robert. He was a tailor. That was his full-time job. But Robert was also an alcoholic. Sometimes, I remember people arguing with him because he made their clothes too big or too small. However, he was the perfect tailor when he was sober. Robert introduced me to clothes design as I was curious to know how he sewed them.

I find clothes fascinating. Especially the ones made out of special fabrics such as silk, crepe, Georgette, and linen but most of all African print fabrics. Their textures and patterns are breathtaking when made in the most fashionable way.

Photo by Chimzi Fashion on Pinterest
Photo by Chimzi Fashion on Pinterest

On occasion, I would scroll on my phone just to look at the elegance of the clothing designs/styles, and tell myself that I would realize them someday.

My husband and I were invited to a friend’s wedding not long ago. Knowing myself, I wanted to wear an elegant, African print dress but did not have one. So I started complaining to my husband to the point that he bought the next week, a new sewing machine. I was shocked, but excited to start a new adventure. I knew nothing about sewing except the few concepts I learned as a kid from my neighbor Robert. Fortunately for me, everything can be learned on YouTube. I started watching videos about sewing for beginners which helped me learn a few tips.

Photo by Darling Arias on Unsplash

During the pandemic, I was able to practice sewing and made some face masks. While learning to sew from videos on YouTube, I also discovered a few stores like Joann or hobby lobby, where I can purchase sewing items. I once had an admiration for tailors and clothes designers. Now I have the opportunity to become one. I will continue to learn how to make clothes and hopefully, my passion for fabrics will draw a path for me as a dressmaker.

--

--