Blink & Clench: Controlling Computer Volume with only my Brain.

AJ
2 min readMar 3, 2024

--

Controlling things with only your mind has always been something straight out of sci-fi. What if I told you that any one of us could control our computers with only our minds? 🧠

In this article, I’ll show you how I changed my volume with signals from my brain. I used 2 metrics here, volume up and volume down and associated them with clenching my jaw and blinking respectively.

***PLEASE REFER TO MY PREVIOUS ARTICLE FOR SPECIFIC SOFTWARE AND HARDWARE INCLUDING SETTING EVERYTHING***

Previous Article

Changes in the Code

For this project, I changed the code like the following:

            if  band_powers[Band.Delta] > 1 and  band_powers[Band.Theta] > 1 and band_powers[Band.Alpha] > 1:
print("""

blink

""")
pyautogui.press('left')
pyautogui.press('left')
pyautogui.press('left')
pyautogui.press('left')
pyautogui.press('left')
pyautogui.press('left')
pyautogui.press('left')

if 1.45 > band_powers[Band.Delta] > 1 and 1.45 > band_powers[Band.Theta] > 1 and band_powers[Band.Alpha] < 1 and band_powers[Band.Beta] < .75 and (datetime.now() - t).seconds > 5:
print("""

jaw

""")
pyautogui.press('right')
pyautogui.press('right')
pyautogui.press('right')
pyautogui.press('right')

Essentially, I associated different waves and strengths of those waves with either the actions of blinking or clenching my jaw.

Keep in mind this will be different for people. You clenching your jaw may have a different strength level than me clenching my jaw.

Everything else shares mostly the same DNA as my last BCI project.

The project files will be linked at my github below:
Github

Video:

Hey! My name is AJ and I am a 15 year old who is interested in technology, specifically new, upcoming, and innovative tech! I like to learn and explore said technologies.

Contact me here: abhijayshandilyawork@gmail.com

--

--

AJ

Hey! My name is AJ and I am a 15 year old who is interested in brain computer interfaces and neurotech || Innovator @ TKS