Basic VR Hand Animations

Shane Makanui-Lopes
2 min readJul 12, 2024

--

Lets put these new hands to use. First step is giving them some basic range of motion.

In this case, I’m just going to give then a simple grab animation whenever I press the Select button on the controller.

First step was to give my hand prefabs an animation controller.

Animation Controller implemented in the hand prefab

Within the Animation Controller, I needed to give it:

  • Open state
  • Closed state
  • Transitions to and from either state
  • Parameters to trigger these transitions
Different state and transitions in the Animation Controller

Once I have the appropriate transitions in place, I pulled animations from the GameDevHQ resources at my disposal and implemented them into the appropriate states.

Note: Animations control a pile of pill shaped colliders throughout the hand prefab. Luckily these were built and animated for me from the resources at my disposal. But worth nothing how complex this animation can be to build from scratch.

Finally, in the XR Controller script in each hand, I told it which animation parameters trigger during select and deselect.

XR Controller script in Unity Editor on hand prefabs

With that, my hands open and close on the user’s command.

--

--