Wegovy 19: The Dating Life

Shanndemic
2 min readJun 10, 2024

--

This is the 19th in a continuing series about my experience with the weight-loss drug Wegovy, which is similar to Ozempic.

I hit my goal weight almost exactly at my one-year Wegovy anniversary. I was feeling so good that I decided it was time to put myself back on the market. The dating market.

My own personal pandemic began long before everybody else’s. My penchant for binge eating and weight gain kept me housebound in elastic pants and avoiding all social plans for years, with dating well off the map.

When the actual pandemic happened, I was already well-versed in isolation, sweatpants, and online shopping. Dr. Fauci told us all to stay home, and I sighed in relief. Finally, I could stop wracking my brain to come up with plausible excuses to not leave the house. Stay home, save a life and all that.

Me during the pandemic.
Me during the pandemic.

Then came the vaccine and Wegovy. The world reopened and I got skinny. It was time to go outside and get back on the dating horse. I found an app, posted a profile with cute pics, wrote some witty sentences, and started getting “likes” and messages.

Which was great … but also problematic: I had nothing to wear. Like, seriously.

Because I work from home and live alone, my closet was filled with all-things-slouchy: “athleisure wear” (sans athletics), men’s T-shirts, and CVS brand underwear purchased with a coupon. In other words, all things “not hot.”

I had to rebuild my wardrobe almost from scratch, buying form-fitting shirts and leather jackets, dark denim jeans, ankle boots, and cool skateboard sneaks. Fast forward several weeks and hundreds of dollars later, the shopping was done, and I looked good.

Unexpectedly, my new wardrobe was good for my self-esteem. Years of slovenliness had left me feeling unattractive, unsexy, and older than my years. New clothes brought in a new energy, and I felt pretty, sexy, and ready for action.

Me post-pandemic

Outfits secured, I started going on dates. Lots of dates: coffee dates, lunch dates, can’t-wait-to-leave dates. Other than a few unfortunate encounters, the dates were fun. I had wonderful conversations, met interesting people, and generally had a good time.

And then I met Daniel. Soon I’d have myself a boyfriend — my first in seven years! — and the subject of my next blog. Stay tuned :-).

Make sure to follow me to get notified when I’ve posted a new entry about my Wegovy journey.

# # #

--

--

Shanndemic

I'm a storyteller and usually the one doing The Robot at wedding receptions.