“The Tire Swing”

Magnolia
Dec 1, 2021

A Pantoum Poem

Push me on the tire swing.
Let my mind slip back to
legs swinging forth,
replacing time with meaning.

Let my mind slip back to
honeysuckle dreams riding bareback, blackberries bursting.
Replacing time with meaning
invites me to stay awhile.

Honeysuckle dreams riding bareback, blackberries bursting,
picked as innocence drapes across a cloudy landscape,
invite me to stay awhile.
Barefoot meandering is good for the soul.

Picked as innocence drapes across a cloudy landscape,
the buttercups glow like sunshine warming my chin.
Barefoot meandering is good for the soul
if the Woods are filled with fairies.

The buttercups glow like sunshine warming my chin.
Whimsy searches clover and luck reminds that
barefoot meandering is good for the soul.
Push me on the tire swing.

--

--

Magnolia

Neurodivergent Writer & Poet. Editor for Move Me Poetry