Shar Fatehi
2 min readAug 8, 2016

Work It Out App

I’m sure you all know by now how important staying healthy and exercising is, but let’s be honest it’s incredibly boring and very difficult to motive yourself to do it.

Think about school for a minute, each and every person has a different style of learning; there is Visual, Aural, Verbal & Physical. Clearly not all brains are the same; everyone needs to find their own style and method for accomplishing their goals.

For my App “Work It Out” I wanted to mirror the idea that not everyone learns the same with not everyone is motivated to exercise the same. This app gives you options to best fit your personality or schedule for exercise.

I started my design process by putting together an inspiration board; I found multiple exercise apps and reviewed what they had to offer. Then I interviewed people who either avidly exercise or who never exercise. I learned that based on each of their personalities, hobbies and time constraints they needed a specific type of motivation. As I put together my app I had others critique it to let me what I was missing and what things didn’t seem to make sense.

After compiling all the information I finalized my idea and prototype.

“Work it Out” gives you 4 options for exercise; inspiration by competition, inspirations by gaming, a time limited option, and a motivational option where the system will send you inspirational messages to get you up and out there.