My self-love journey

Nandini Sharma
1 min readApr 17, 2023

--

Bellows of loathe soared in my mind,

Each time I let a thought come to light.

Why should I let my unfit drivel spew into the ambience,

Me, who was neither gaunt nor winsome.

Each lot of this marrow, ‘needed,’ to be rebuilt.

Doused with this irk, I mirrored it on the rest,

How could they condone their person, while I condemn?

At the rear of this agony, I looked inbound.

“Amor gignit amorem,” (Love begets Love) these words glared.

What they and I held in our hearts, we did engender.

I learned to view myself as I breathe,

After all, there is no supplement to me.

This frame and pith can only carry one and all.

Though not the reflection of She who sits in the scallop shell,

I can mellow and be just as well.

Assent roused, for it was all that was needed,

For love and amenity to beat in.

Such ecstasy would flee and dawdle as the days pass,

But I would not ever yearn to be surplus.

- Nandini Sharma

[This was submitted for Project I Am Enough’s Pæan Poetry Competition and won in the age category of 15–20.]

--

--