Genie Talks, Chapter 6

Some Dreams Come True

sharmishte datti
2 min readMay 4, 2020
Humans and silly obsessions

Hello folks, it’s been a really long time. So long, that I haven’t been able to wish you all a Happy New Year. As far as I can see, this year seems to be a bit extraordinary. Let me explain why I’ve taken so long to write something.

As usual, humans are to blame! It was late last year, just a couple of days before New Years’. Mind you, this was my first New Year celebration and I was so excited to experience it. But my food giver had different plans; she and mom just took off on a week-long trip to celebrate the coming decade, leaving me and dad to fend for ourselves.

Honestly, I was devasted. All my New Year plans to chew on bones at midnight was just gone. Poof. I still had my human relatives visiting us and it was a fun time. But right at the mark of the New Year, in the spur of the moment, I made a wish. I wished that my food-giver and mom, well, everyone for that matter, should stay at home more often.

Little did I know that my wish would be fulfilled by a tiny invisible virus. Little did I know that there were already things in motion, killing thousands of people and generally wreaking havoc. Initially, I forgot about my wish. A few days after New Years’, mom and food-giver came back home and it was all merriment after that.

And then out of the blue, my food-giver began staying at home. First I thought it was one of those long weekends that humans crave for. But this seemed to go on. After almost a week, I started to realise that my wish was finally coming true! It was unbelievable and I was exhilarated that I had the constant attention of my family.

It’s been a few weeks now that my entire family has been staying at home. I’m also realising that while I enjoy the attention, it’s coming at a cost. I feel a tad bit guilty that many of my human friends are bearing the cost. Its come to my attention that humans have been ordered to stay home- something like the sit and stay orders they usually give me.

While it’s amusing to see this, I’m slowly beginning to worry about my favourite treats and chewy bone stocks. If my food-giver is lying around at home, who’s going to buy me my treatos? Did I make the wrong wish? I’m a tad bit confused with this weird situation. Any suggestions on how to solve this? I’m always open to advice!

--

--