Why You Can Say, “Yes!” to SNS

I Love Dip Powder Manicures Now.

Sharon Spell
6 min readApr 8, 2022
Photo by Persona Mockups on Unsplash

My mother regularly did her own nails, taking pride in shaping them with basic drugstore emery boards and patiently waiting for the clear polish to dry as she watched her daytime stories on the bedroom TV.

She taught me how to do my nails. I could shape a decent arch and keep the polish between the lines. But my manicures didn’t last long because I loved painting on canvas more. In college when I switched my major to art, painting my fingernails was far from my mind as smudges of oil paint found their way to all parts of my skin, hair and clothing. Fine art supplies don’t mix well with nail polish, and the time spent doing my nails yielded a negative return on my investment.

Even though my mother also fostered my love of the arts, she somehow didn’t teach me how to balance my artistic pursuits while looking like a hand model at all times. When she tried, it was in the form of a passive-aggressive manicure kit, with a tube of hand exfoliant to help get the paint off of my hands. I neither asked for nor wanted this gift. This was obviously a gift for herself: the gift being seeing me look the way she wanted me to look.

When I see people with paint under their nails, I get jealous. I want to know what they’re working on, and I want to also work on that project. I…

--

--

Sharon Spell

Humor writer and essayist in NYC. Read her work in Cosmo, Clean Plates and here. Support her writing and buy her a coffee: https://buymeacoffee.com/sharonspell