Apps You Need in Your Classroom

Kassi Sharpe
2 min readJul 6, 2022

I know that many of us teachers did not grow up learning with the assistance of technology, so we are all somewhat skeptical of integrating it into our classrooms. However, it is so important to stay connected with our students, and to bring their interests into the classroom, and whether we like it or not their interests are primarily technology related. I have cumulated a list of apps I have come across over the years that I thought would be helpful in any classroom, but before you look over my list watch the video I have linked below so that you can gain a new respect for technology in the classroom.

  1. Prodigy- This is a math game that can be personalized to any lesson plan and works with all ages. It is engaging and also very helpful in increasing a child’s math knowledge.
  2. Seesaw- This app helps teachers provide feedback on their students’ work. Teachers can make each child their own portfolio so that they can easily track their progress.
  3. Kahoot!- This is a game-based platform that gives pop quizzes a new meaning. It allows teachers to ask the students any questions they desire and the students are competing for the most amount of points.
  4. GoNoodle- This app is aligned with common core standards, and it keeps kids engaged with short videos and activities.
  5. Epic!- This is an online library for ages 12 and under. It has over 40,000 books, quizzes, and resources.

That is just a short list of some of my favorites, but I want to be clear that there are millions of apps out there you can use, so if these do not work for you and your kiddos don't give up on the idea of apps! Just try and find the ones that are the best fit for you.

--

--

Kassi Sharpe
0 Followers

I am currently a junior at Texas State University where I am majoring in elementary education. I am also a preschool teacher in New Braunfels.