How I became Oracle Certified Java Programmer at Age 13….

Shashank kumar
3 min readOct 24, 2017

--

I am Shashank kumar, an Oracle Certified Java Programmer. I live in Bihar, India and read in class 9th. I belongs to a small middle-class family and fascinated to learn Awesome skills.

That’s my small bio :)

Java Programming

So, How I have became Oracle Certified Java Programmer at Age 13 ?

Java OCA 8 Certifications are really good way to showcase your knowladge, and it DEFINITELY enhances your understanding of the language (I am talking about preparation of this exam).

Many of the Computer Science graduates and under-geaduates take this exam, Job holders also take this exam to get a salary Increament or Promotion. Although, it’s a good thing to have on your reasume still getting a job depends on your skills.

This exam is popular among CS students and Programmers but not in high School or College. Programming in Indian Schools seems like a dream, 99% of People in my school( Including teachers) has no idea about Computer Programming or Coding. I was one of them until i had access to internet in class 6th. I used to search about things that can make me look genius among my classmates, like tricks on phone and computer. The feeling that i can learn anything on Internet fascinated me a lot. I just wanted to get Deeper Understanding of how things actually work on these devices.I actually started learning my first programming language- HTML in class 6th, slowly but with complete determenation that i must learn it.

I started Learning Java in Class 8th, I didn’t get daily have too much time as compared to class 6. After 5 or 6 months of Learning Java on Internet, I was able to understand the basics of any programming language and decided to Learn Android App Development. Again after learning android 4–5 months, I was able to create Basic apps.

In December 2016 I started Creating my first android App but due to winter holidays and then final exams it took me too much to complete the simple app.I finally published my first app on may and realised that there is lot to learn and I again started to Learn Android App development and many other things (related to Programming) in my full fledged mode.

On September 20, I got to know about Java OCA — 8 Examination. I decided to take the exam same day and started learning. I downloaded some PDFs of books for this Certification exam and started preparing for it. I also took help of Youtube Videos and Mock-test papers(Enthuware.com).

On October 22, I gave the Exam at Oracle Testing Centre and Passed with Flying colours. I recieved my Result after 30 minutes of exam completion and got digital badge and eCertificate after 24 hours.Below is the link to my Certification badge, you can see it if you want:-

I know that there is a long way to go and I have to learn a lot but currently I am happy with my accomplishment :)

If you want to connect with me :-

Facebook :- https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009123546692

Linked In :-https://www.linkedin.com/in/shashank-k-606

Qoura :- https://www.quora.com/profile/Shashank-Kumar-449

StackOverFlow :- https://stackoverflow.com/story/shashank-kumar

My Android Apps

Opined (Meaningful Social Platform) :https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.app.weopined

Diabetes Go:https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lazerapps.android.diabetesgo

Orion: Learn Android — https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=programming.android.tutorial

This is my very first post so excuse any mistakes and support me :)

--

--