Coding The Summer Away! ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ’ป๐ŸŒž

(Previous Blog)

Shashwat Kathuria
2 min readAug 20, 2020

I have almost completed my second last week of coding in Google Summer of Code ๐ŸŒž under Wikimedia Foundation with my mentor Sage Ross. Reflecting back, it has been an amazing journey ๐Ÿ‚๐Ÿป๏ธ with only good moments that I can remember of; how can everything be so perfect!! For me, this journey has been an exciting and amazing learning experience, even to the point that I would really appreciate the way I have:

  • evolved my coding practices.
  • regularly been trying to analyze what I am doing; thanks to all the PR reviews from my mentor, while coding I have started to critically think in depths what I am doing.
  • started using industry standards in my very own projects, thanks to all the knowledge and depth that I keep learning along the way because of my amazing mentor!

This journey has technically been long, but to me it feels very shortโ€ฆI still remember the days I was a newcomer in the organization and was trying to make contributionsโ€ฆbut time flies. I love Wikimedia Foundation!! ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜„

I am contributing to Wiki Education Dashboard (Ruby on Rails + ReactJS)

Now, coming to the contributions I have made in the previous 2 weeks, I have worked on the following:

  • Making course article status update slightly more efficient and fully integrated it into the course update process rather than getting them updated via a separate daily worker.
  • Adding a new feature to assign random peer reviews to all the students in a course on a click, to make it easy for instructors to be able to assign peer reviews.
  • Fixing the issue of tracking categories not working in talk page categories and talk templates outside of English Wikipedia.

Also, I am happy to know that I and a co-intern are going to be featured in Wiki Education blogs by our mentor! My next blog will include a summary of all the work I have done in the internship period along with links to my PRs.

--

--