Lesson from a 20MM Bullet Casing

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary
3 min readNov 15, 2015

From Defense to Decoration

20MM bullet casings from a U.S. Coast Guard ship.

The Backstory

Looking at items on shelves designed for display is like looking into history… there a story with every object.

My brother-in-law works for the U.S. Coast Guard, and as like most folks, he was assigned to a ship for the first 4 years of his career. While I don’t know all of his responsibilities, I do know that he was charged with the maintenance of one of the anti-aircraft guns on the ship and served as a technician for various duties.

As I have heard various accounts, it is my understanding that the gun he used saw little action, but it needed to be learned and maintained, and it took a lot of people. Makes sense; I suppose that’s the best case scenario. Big guns on ships are like big, expensive insurance policies — we’re grateful we have them when they are needed but hope we never have to use them.

Well, things age with time and have to be replaced (similar to the lesson from a mouse ball), but where do these items go? How do we remember what it took to defend this country and honor those that served? Enter the “display shelf.” The place where items go to be remembered begging to have their stories told to new people and new generations.

The Object

These bullets are big.

On my shelf right now are two 20MM bullet casings from the U.S. Coast Guard. During a family visit with my brother-in-law, he brought with him a 20MM bullet casing and told the story of the weapon on the ship.

Wow. I had never seen or held a bullet like this. It was cold, dark, and empty — lifeless; and it was surprisingly heavy. The bullet was a lot bigger than my fist, and it was just the casing.

I can only imagine the destruction that would be caused being on the receiving end of the cannon. This thing was definitely mean to do some damage. Just imagine an entire clip fired in rapid succession at whatever it is you’re driving or flying.

Well, of course, I had to find out, so to YouTube I went. I found a bunch of videos of cannons that are used to fire the 20MM bullet, but the following video from GY6 demonstrates what the bullet can do to an old engine… the type of mechanical enemy target this bullet was designed to defend against.

Poor engine. Thanks for the video GY6.

The Lesson

It’s crazy to think that the bullet shells on my office shelf were once intended for defense (probably not offense), and now here they are on display like trophies. To be clear, they are not trophies, but they are something that I think deserves respect — and something not every one has to share. A lot of people were involved in making this bullet, let alone the knowledge and work that went into using it.

The 20MM bullet casings may be office decoration on most days, but some day, they will share a story. When someone asks about how I got them or why I have them on display, they are story tellers meant to share what it takes to defend this nation.

So, a few lessons from the 20MM bullet casings:

  • What happened in the past does not have to be forgotten.
  • We should respect what it takes (or took) to defeat our enemies and demons.
  • Be proud, display, and share your stories.
  • Stand up for what you believe in.
  • Give thanks to God.

I may not directly know what its like to serve in this type of capacity, but what I can do is give support and share a story. May God be with all those who defend this nation and help keep the peace within it.

20MM bullet casing serving as decoration on a shelf in my office.

Written by Shaun Holloway.

--

--

Shaun Holloway
Lessons from Ordinary

Lessons from Ordinary. Business and life learning from everyday objects and common questions. http://www.srholloway.com