10 Hot Cyber Security Certifications for 2018

With an increased number of hacking attempts and virus outbreaks, Cyber Security is a necessity for organizations. Hackers nowadays are trying to find new vulnerabilities to produce maximum impact without getting noticed.

With these challenges, the developers are having a tough time to release bug fixes on time and keep the software patched properly. The same challenge has been imposed for the organizations as well, to ensure that their network is secure.

As the Business differs from organization to organization, the security requirements also change accordingly but generally, it revolves around the security triad CIA.

CIA stands for

  • C — Confidentiality
  • I — Integrity
  • A — Availability

The importance of the elements of the triad changes is based on the nature of the business. Hence, it is very critical for the organizations to hire the right set of resources, who can manage the infrastructure and ensure that the network is as much secure as possible.

When we talk about the right set of resources, it is very important for everyone to understand what skills the organizations are seeking. As security is a niche skill, anyone with security skills is highly valued in the industry, but a professional certification raises the bar for any applicant.

Employers always prefer candidates with accredited industry standard certifications. Here are ten hottest certifications for 2018 and which is definite to fetch you a highly payable cyber security jobs:

CISSP — Certified Information Systems Security Professional

CISSP is currently granted by the International Information System Security Certification Consortium, also known as (ISC)². CISSP covers all the domains of security ranging Risk Management to Security Operations. To become CISSP certified, there is a requirement of having a minimum of 5 years of experience in two or more information security domains of (ISC)².

The certification is aimed at the people who have relevant technical and management skills. CISSP is valid for 3 years and can be renewed by meeting the required number of CPE (Continuing Professional Education) points.

CCSP — Certified Cloud Security Professional

In this ever-dynamic new world of Cloud Computing, new threats are exploited posing a huge risk to the data available on the Cloud. Earning a CCSP certification will represent that the person has good understanding, knowledge and hands-on experience with Cloud architecture and designing.

CCSP is currently accredited by (ISC)² but was created by (ISC)² and Cloud Security Alliance. A CCSP certification will not only provide unique recognition and establish your credibility, it will also help in career advancement.

CISA — Certified Information Systems Auditor

This certification is specially designed for professionals who aspire to grow as an Auditor in the field of Information Security. CISA covers the following 5 domains extensively:

  • Domain 1: The process of auditing information systems
  • Domain 2: Governance and management of IT
  • Domain 3: Information systems acquisition, development, and implementation
  • Domain 4: Information systems operations, maintenance, and support
  • Domain 5: Protection of information assets

Being a CISA certified establishes the fact that you have knowledge and experience in the above-mentioned domain. CISA is recognized globally and the recertification can be done by submitting the required CPE points with ISACA (Information Systems Audit and Control Association).

CISM — Certified Information Security Manager

CISM is a globally recognized standard in the field of Information security management.

CISM is also accredited by ISACA. Anyone who holds the CISM certificate is expected to have a sound knowledge and understanding to establish the relation between Information Security and the Business. CISM focuses on the following domains:

  • Domain 1: Information Security Governance
  • Domain 2: Information Risk Management
  • Domain 3: Information Security Program Development
  • Domain 4: Information Security Program Management
  • Domain 5: Incident Management and Response

CRISC — Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control

CRISC certified professionals are expected to build and establish the understanding of the impacts of IT risks and how it will affect the overall business. Hence, for the professionals with an understanding of the Risk Analysis, are targeted for this certification from ISACA. The domains covered under this certification are:

  • Domain 1 — IT Risk Identification
  • Domain 2 — IT Risk Assessment
  • Domain 3 — Risk Response and Mitigation
  • Domain 4 — Risk and Control Monitoring and Reporting

CEH — Certified Ethical Hacker

As the name suggests, people who hold the CEH certificate are ethical hackers, who can help the organization in identifying the weaknesses and vulnerabilities in the network, so that they can be remediated by applying proper controls, before they get exploited. CEH is focused on vulnerability assessment and penetration testing, along with other hacking concepts like Enumeration and Reconnaissance. It also helps in developing skills and perform various kind of attacks to understand the pattern of attacks that take place in the cyber world.

ECSA — EC-Council Certified Security Analyst

ECSA, formerly known as LPT (Licensed Penetration Tester) is also designed to enhance the penetration skills of the security professional. It is an interactive 5-day training program where the candidate learns the and develops the penetration testing skills and can use them in a practical world, to secure the organization’s network from the external world.

CHFI — Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator

Many organizations nowadays are not only interested in securing their network but they also intend to identify the offender/hacker/attacker, who has caused an impact on their business. Hence, the certification from EC-Council enables the professionals to have the required skills which can help the organization to perform the required forensic activities in case of hacking incidents or virus attacks. CHFI certified professionals can perform forensic activities to identify the signature pattern of a new virus and can secure the network more efficiently.

GPEN — GIAC Penetration Tester

GPEN is a certification which is specially designed for professionals whose job role includes vulnerability assessment, Penetration testing, and ethical hacking. As any other GIAC certification, this certification is also completely based on the practical and hands-on experience of the aspirant. It widely covers the various aspects related to Penetration testing, including the legal challenges around penetration testing as well.

GSEC — GIAC Security Essentials Certification

GSEC is an intermediate level certification from GIAC, targeting the security professionals with excellent hands-on skills with respect to the security tasks. There is no specific training or course material as such, because the certification is completely focused on the practical experience of the aspirant and hence establishes the credibility of the professional, once certified. GSEC is valid for 4 years and needs to be renewed after that.

Originally published at letslearntechblog.wordpress.com on August 29, 2017.