Netiquette in an online classroom

Shawn D'Souza
2 min readJul 17, 2019

--

Using netiquette online is very important because it provides a sort of social norm in an online environment. When in a real life classroom, participating in an face to face discussion, each participant has a general sense of how to act in a civil manner and act within given social norms that we have learned to abide by throughout our lives.

Internet has made the world smaller

Since the internet came around, the fine line for humanity had become vague as many people can say whatever they want, whenever they want without the pressure and the consequences of saying something to someone’s face. When someone has bad netiquette in the classroom, it can create and uncomfortable learning environment and provide an outlet for inappropriate discussion or attacks on someone’s point of view.

Keep an open mind

For example, when someone is expressing an unpopular idea or explanation in a discussion, it is inherent that one is respectful and tries to keep an open mind for all perspectives as the online students have many. If I was addressed with bad netiquette in an online classroom discussion, I would feel bad and probably less inclined to participate in the discussion from fear of getting backlash for an unpopular opinion. I am very sure many other may also feel the same way. It may also cause others to feel angry and further go against the netiquette standards and cause more chaos in the discussion.

Be respectful during peer assessment

Netiquette relates to peer assessment because it is almost like an asynchronous one on one discussion. It is important to be respectful while assessing a student’s assignment even if you may not agree with their view expressed in the assignment. The whole purpose of giving feedback is to help each other improve on our skills so we can all succeed in passing the course. Not following the proper netiquette will counteract this.

Receiving feedback

I feel that the feedback I was given for this weeks assignment from my instructor and peers was a fair grade and possibly even a little too nice. I also believe that the feedback given to me was fair as well. I like the feedback from my peers because it helps me improve on my writing and I am getting real insights from my fellow students. It also allows me to gain a deeper understanding of what we are learning.

--

--

Shawn D'Souza

I am a junior software developer @ CloudInfoSystems.com , computer science student, and a music producer. I love to write on various topics.